We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley House Hotel to your Saves list
Hedley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in York
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great service, nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I took my Mum to York for a Christmas weekend and we stayed here for three nights. This is a nice hotel with nice rooms. Our room was very spatious, with 2 single and 1 double bed, although the all-cream walls were a bit drab. That was my only criticism however - the staff were really efficient and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble - like finding space in their bar fridge for the bottle of M&S champagne we brought in ourselves - they happily provided champagne glasses without us even asking. With checkout time, they happily gave me some extra time for my mum who is very slow in the mornings. Breakfast was a pleasant range of cereal yogurt, fruit, toast, fruit juice and a full range of cooked breakfast which seemed to go down very well with everyong who had it. The lounges were lovely - spent a couple of hours each morning working on Laptop - great free Wireless connection although didn't work in the room. This hotel is a short walk from the city wall (i.e. where you want to be) and the Minster. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice break where the emphasis is on friendly, easygoing staff, convenience, spatious rooms and traditional english breakfasts. It's not for those who want a boutique/style hotel experience (which is what I usually go for) but everyone else will love it. Would definately return here when we come back to York. Oh, and York itself is lovely for Christmas - we took a friday when it was relatively quiet to do the shops, then on saturday when it was mobbed, we just wandered where the crowd would take us, enjoying the holiday atmosphere and laughing in the long, long queues which are so Christmassy unless you actually want to get anything done...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    387
    105
    37
    13
See reviews for
187
639
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

directions were fine and you have 10 minutes outside to unload then off to the private carpark at th rear.2nd floor room (8) overlooking the quiet street and the railway. Well appointed and clean with twin beds, TV, two lounge chairs, big bathroom with overbath shower. We arrived just after 4pm in early December and the central heating was about to put on. were offered a heater if required but we were up three flights of stairs. Breakfasts are as commented on by others.. excellent and the sausages particularly flavoursome. Staff smiling and helpful. All in all and excellent couple of nights stay and we are booking to return in spring. My sole 'moan' is that the teaspoon in the room was as long as the mug was deep which meant the odd scalded finger tips ( after that used a borrowed desert spoon.
An excellent small family hotel in a convenient location and we feel the owners do themslves proud.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We have investigated the short teaspoon and realised we had put a small coffee spoon in the room by mistake!
Come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Can not fault this hotel. Very clean and warm hotel with comfy bed. Staff friendly and helpful. Location great only 8 min walk to city centre. Breakfast great full English with lovely free range eggs, lots of toast and lashings of coffee, fruit juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurt.. Hotel also has its own carpark which is great although it is small, therefore more suitable for small cars. Even has a jacuzzi/sauna in garden wish we had brought swim wear!

York great city with a remarkable 360 lively pubs with quizzes music and loads of character, history and a huge selection of real ales. Loads of restaurants serving all manner of cusines although eating out is not cheap in York. History and sights galore will come again and will definately stay at Hedley. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Railway line at front of hotel but we hardly heard trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you again in 2012!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Very nice hotel within a 10 minute walk from the city centre and railway station, the food was first class, as was the attitude of the staff, we would definitely stay here in the future. The double room we stayed in was presented to a very high standard. My thanks to Greg and his staff for a first class product, keep up the good work.

Many Thanks, Jon

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
We aim to please here at Hedley House. we are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
Come and stay again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is the 3rd time i have stayed at Hedley House and as usual it was fabulous.. This time i took 5 friends with me and they all said how lovely, relaxed and helpful the hote and staff were.
We had 2 triple rooms which were spacious and quiet and we all used the hot tub which was fabulous after a long day shopping in York. On our 1st night we all ate in the hotel resturant which was gorgeous especially the cheese and biscuits.
Sarah on reception went out of her way to help us with parking and a later dinner reservation, she also reserved us a larger table for breakfast so we could sit together. It is the helpfullness of ALL Hedley House staff which make me come back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 24 and 25 as they were opposite each other for the 6 of us to have fun but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you Ladies!! You certainly made the most of the shopping!! Looking forward to looking after you all again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

GIll and Jeff
We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have always found a very warm welcome.The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Within easy reach of the city. We have recommended this hotel to many friends and we shall continue to use it. Keep up the good work Hedley House.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter unless you like to sound of the trains at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for the super review. See you again in 2012!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had a fab time with 5 pals for the Xmas market weekend. Location was perfect for walking into town and then back fully laden with goodies. Then back into town for dinner and drinks. The first night we did eat in the hotel and it was lovely and very good value. Compliments to the staff for their care, friendliness and helpfulness. If staying here, and I would recommend you do, please do not miss the home made granola at breakfast and the hot tub in the garden, both highlights from our weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you Shopping Girls! We totally agree here at Hedley House the Granola is amazing!! Just what you need to set up for lots of shopping and hot tub fun!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.