We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here at your peril !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Bridge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clifton Bridge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse
21/23 Water End, York YO30 6LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Formby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay here at your peril !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I am a respectable 65 year old lady,who visited York with my daughter-in-law for a shopping trip.Disgusting attitude from the landlord,who demands payment in advance.(no wonder after subsequent traumatic experience)Booked room in October and checked in at 10.15 a.m.,and were told we would have the best room as we were first to arrive.After returning from visit to city at 10.30 p.m.,we were told that our room had been relet to other people in our absence.He offered to drive us across the city to another guesthouse in a very obnoxious manner.When we complained he threw our bags outside,and told us to leave his house.With nowhere to go at 11 .p.m,I knocked on door and he eventually drove us to other guesthouse.Next morning we went for breakfast at 9.30 and found other guests waiting ......(breakfast was supposed to be from 9.30 to 10.30)Landlord arrived at approx 10.00 to start preparing breakfast.Other guests and ourselves decided to leave without breakfast as it was obviously going to be too late.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    8
    7
    43
See reviews for
19
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Disgusting customer service, owner verbally aggressive and certainly not a professionally run business.!!!!

I booked 2 triple rooms to fit 6 people at Clifton Bridge Guest House over a month ago for a girls Christmas shopping trip in York. I received confirmation via e-mail and had a few telephone calls to confirm the booking with the owner.
After travelling approximately 2 hours we arrived at the guesthouse. The owner arrived to organise our checking in. As our confirmation stated each room was £74 per night, the owner confirmed this however then said he wanted £37 per person. Obviously the maths doesn't work out. This was not much of a difference in price but we wanted to clarify that the price quoted was not the same as he was asking.

After a very brief discussion the owner started shouting at us and throwing his arms around. He stated we had had our chance and he wanted us to leave. When we tried to speak to him he refused to look at the confirmation e-mail with the quoted price, he said he didn't know who had sent that but he was the only person who was dealing with the bookings!!.
He stated we had refused to pay and we could put whatever we wanted on the internet. No one had refused to pay or mentioned anything about the internet and we were quite happy to pay the difference but wanted to clarify the change.
He continued to shout and did practically threw us out. It was quite funny to us as we were so shocked at his very bizarre attitude.

Luckily we were able to find a much nicer and actually cheaper B and B to stay in at such short notice (Blossoms).

I would advise anyone looking into Clifton Guest house to avoid at all costs, you might not actually get to stay in your room. I would not trust the owner as he seems rather stressed and unable to professionally manage his business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I called the B and B the night before to determine check in time and we were told we were staying in a sister B and B 'the bridge'. The B and B was very nice but the attitude of the landlord was disgusting! When we arrived he did everything he could to get rid of us and even threatened to call the police! We are a nice ground of lads who would never cause trouble and this incident took the shine of what was otherwise a great trip to York. I would have walked out but new trying to find an alternative B and B for 10 would have been impossible so had to try to calm the psychotic landlord down as best we could. Also, we booked on booking.com and ended up having to pay over the quoted price!! If you book at the clifton bridge and get offered the bridge instead! My advice would be to steer well clear if you want to feel welcome!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through a Hen Night agency at a very reasonable rate. I was nervous about what kind of hotel would willingly accept a party of 9 for a hen night but was very pleasantly surprised!
We had 4 rooms - all of which were clean and tidy with good bathrooms, tea, coffee & TV. The beds were comfy and clean.
The owner was very helpful regarding parking and even offered to book us taxis into town, which turned out to be a 20 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride away.
Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, croissants and cooked options and the guy who served it was very warm and friendly.
Very pleasantly surprised at the quality for such a good price :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having read the reviews of the Clifton Bridge I was a little nervous about having reservations for a hen weekend with 12 other ladies over the weekend of 4th October. Some of the reviews gave the impression that the owner made Basil Fawlty sound like the Dalai Lama. Nothing could have been further from the truth. My room was small but comfortable with a newly installed spotless bathroom with a great shower. We used the lounge to enjoy a glass of Prosecco before heading into York for dinner on Friday night and the room was very inviting with lovely Tiffany lamps showing the group of ladies in a lovely light! The owner was very helpful and even offered to run some of our party into York when we had trouble ordering taxis in time for our dinner booking. In the event his offer wasn't required but it was much appreciated. The breakfast was very good and the young guy taking our orders was both helpful and pleasant. The place is comfy and very clean and the parking was safe. If I need more than this then there are more expensive hotels to be had in York. Take your pick!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arranged a reservation for Sat 28 Sept with a check in time of 10pm but when we arrived at 9.30 pm we were told we were too late. No apology, then an offer to stay at another guesthouse which was subsequently abruptly withdrawn on the spurious grounds that our attitude was inappropriate even though we had been willing to pay in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this Guesthouse on Saturday 14th September 2013............ Arrived early, parking was easy and safe, we were able to check in at 1145am and the room was lovely........ We staying the a family room for 5, which consisted of 1 double bed and 3 singles. Bed really comfy, loads of pillows and lovely thick quitls........... Arthur was lovely and could not be more helpful and the breakfast was really tasty and plenty of choice. would definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Bridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Bridge Guesthouse

Address: 21/23 Water End, York YO30 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifton Bridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Bridge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.