We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great service, very friendly, was second time staying there and will definetly be back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishops Guest Accomodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bishops Guest Accomodation to your Saves list
Bishops Guest Accomodation
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   135 Holgate Road, York YO24 4DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 213 York B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely place, great service, very friendly, was second time staying there and will definetly be back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, great service, very friendly, was second time staying there and will definetly be back again. was very clean, very relaxed atmosphere, food was excellent, scrambled eggs were fantastic in particular.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    61
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
204
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Bishops Hotel is a very high quality Bed and Breakfast. The service is very good and you are shown to your rooms which is very rare. Inside the rooms they are furnished to a very high standard.

The breakfast was excellent and consists of a choice of cereals with local preserves and traditional or contintenal breakfast. The traditional breakfast was served to a high quality.

The hotel is fairly close to the city and it's many attractions. For football fans - note the owner is Marco Gabbiadini and his wife.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and booked the Tulip room which was wonderful. En suite and also had a sofa. On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful lady who showed us to our room and then offered us drinks. It is about 15 minutes to the centre and there is plenty to do. We visited Castle Museum which was really interesting, Cliffords Tower, Treasurers House again lovely. The Shambles is a little cobbled street with quaint shops. We were told that an Italian called Delrios was a great place to eat and we were not disappointed but you need to book. York is lovely and we will be back to explore more!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my second time staying at Bishops.I had booked 8 out 11 rooms for various family members.We were all in York for a family wedding.I had previously been shown the rooms by the owner Deborah,so I was able to match a room for each of the party.Not easy as all the rooms are beautifully appointed and well equipped.We stayed in Room 7.The bed was extremely comfortable and airy.It overlooked the garden.
Breakfasts were excellent and served with efficiency.They have won an award for the quality of their breakfasts! Deborah,Marco and their staff were very accomadating to meets our needs during the weekend.All of our party were impressed by the friendliness and high standards of Bishops.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms! Each has its own character.We booked Rooms10,11,2,3,4,6,7 and 8.Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked at the last minute and had a really warm welcome when we arrived. The rooms are lovely and very clean. We were given fresh milk to make our tea in the room which was a lovely touch. The towels were huge and fluffy and beds very comfortable. There were so many extra little things that made this such very good value. The breakfasts were the best we have ever tasted and all the staff so very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend Bishops Guest house and it is only about 20mins walk to the centre of York

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in room 6 which was up in the attic. Firstly this room was large with settee, lovely furniture and was exceptionally clean. My only disappointment was with the shower, you had to pull the door open past the sink first in order to get in, and then whilst lovely and hot the shower did nothing more than dribble out. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice of cereals, full english and continental. Only comment would be that there are not enough tables for all guests. On our first morning it seemed we had all come down at the same time and one couple had to sit and wait. They looked uncomfortable and it made me feel uncomfortable and I rushed to finish my breakfast so they could have there's. The guest information folder also left me a little uncomfortable as seems to be a list of rules rather than information, especially the comments about forgetting your key which left me with OCD about the key everytime we went out ! To end on a good point the staff were very helpful and friendly. Also liked the location as York was short walk away meaning we could leave the car behind and enjoy many of Yorks old public houses. This was a nice B&B however due to the vast amount in York I probably wouldnt return.

Room Tip: Room 6 Orchard Room, attic room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my second time staying here this year and again at the last minute. Deborah (one of the proprietors) remembered me form earlier in the year and was able to provide the last room for me and was most accommodating. I was really grateful. Beautiful and spaciouos room, tasty breakfast, friendly staff, great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishops Guest Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops Guest Accomodation

Address: 135 Holgate Road, York YO24 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bishops Guest Accomodation 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops offers 5-star Guest Accommodation with a silver award. Our restored Victorian villa has individually designed en-suite rooms in comfortable, family-run surroundings. Relax with a delicious award-winning Yorkshire breakfast, served in a sunny dining room with views of the gardens. Alternatively, unwind with a newspaper or simply soak up the sun with a drink in the licensed lounge. Bishops is within walking distance of many of York's main attractions. Free off-road parking available. It is a short walk to bus and train stations, making Bishops an excellent base for exploring Yorkshire's countryside and coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bishops Guest Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Guest Accomodation Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishops Guest Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.