We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th July - Dean & Deb Dawson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple House Guest Accommodation

Save Saved
You added Apple House Guest Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple House Guest Accommodation
74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“30th July - Dean & Deb Dawson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Accommodation was excellent. And Pam and Tony the owners of the guest house was so friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for you will definitely stay with them again. Location was excellent for walking into York. Can leave your car there all day when you leave which is a plus cause u don't have to pay for parking. You don't have to check in at a certain time you can just tell them what time you exspect to arrive when you book.

Room Tip: we would recommend a room at the front of the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Great review and lovely guests. Thank you for choosing to return to us and write your comments. Our rooms at the back of the house face the railway and the rooms at the front are on the main road. We are very central so cannot claim to be in a peaceful location however we hope we offer the little extras to overcome any disturbance from outside. All our guests have their favourite rooms and we will always, as far as possible, let guests have a choice of room. We look forward to seeing you next year (front of house next time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    42
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
164
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first stay at the Apple house and it certainly lived up to its high review ratings. Pam and Tony were very good hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they helped us with directions to the places we wanted to visit. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a good sized en-suite. There was also a Yorkie bar in our room upon arrival which we thought was a nice touch. We had the opportunity to meet both of the friendly waitresses, Jade and Carla and you can see they work hard and do a good job! The cooked breakfast was of a high quality and very tasty, including a good selection of cereals and fruit from the buffet table.

The Apple house has a great location and is only a short walk to the beautiful city of York. We visited the Minster, walked the walls and enjoyed a meal at Betty’s cafe. However, the highlight of the visit was the Railway museum which was free entry. We even had a go on the new Mallard simulator they have, which was great fun.

Our stay at the Apple house was excellent and we have already told our friends that this is the place to stay when they are in York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments after your stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind feedback. We love running our guest house and meeting everyone and aim to provide the best service possible. We also think our staff are lovely and we feel lucky to have girls who also pride themselves on great service, friendliness and genuine interest in our guests. We hope to see you again next time you visit the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

They were 6 of us that stayed at the apple house from Friday 19th July to Sunday 21st we were met by pam as we came into,the carpark which by the way is very roomy and private and is locked for security in the night she introduced herself and showed us to our room which were very nice comfy and clean we were all impressed straight away, they was fans in each room which we were all glad of because of the weather which had been very hot over the past few days we all unpacked and got ready to walk into town which is only about a 15 min stroll. The breakfast was lovely and the service excellent we all enjoyed our stay and would definantly return again.... Tania, mell, Helen, Jane angie and Lindsay....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi there Ladies. thanks so much for your super review. The weekend seemed to be a great success for you all and we really enjoyed having you to stay. You were great fun and we loved decorating the dining room with all your bits and bobs for Tanias birthday. All our other guests enjoyed the decorations too!! We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2day stay at the apple.Was at front of house and at night it was VERY NOISEY. When we told pam she just laugh and said she could not sleep in that room and just offered me and my wife EARPLUGS.Not happy when paying £160

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments of your stay at The Apple House. We are very disappointed we were unable to please you on this occasion despite our very best efforts. Race weekends are extremely busy in York and as we are in a very central situation and very close to the racecourse it can be noisy on a weekend with raceday revellers. Had rooms been available we would have gladly moved you to a quieter room but I did explain that the room had been made available to a very late cancellation. Your stay included free wifi, free parking and provided an extensive gluten free breakfast and we try to manage sleep disturbance as much as we can.
Booking in advance is always recommended to choose the room you require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in Room 10 at Apple House for two nights, Friday & Saturday, 19th & 20th July. We have been staying with Apple House, at least once a year, for many years past, and, it has to be said, we find no need to look for other accommodation as this is a great place to stay. The welcome is always warm and friendly, and, having slept in most rooms, they are all fine and cannot really be faulted. The Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice. A huge bonus ( for York) is the ample parking. Leave the car and get the bus from right outside the front door into the City centre. There is a "Local" just down the road and a R.C.Church over the road, down the next street. All in all a great place to stay and next July , God willing, we shall be here again.

Room Tip: Room 10 is the only Ground Floor Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of your weekend at The Apple House. It was great to see you again and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year - I think you will have been in all my rooms by then!! The weekend was good fun with the birthday group staying and we are pleased you enjoyed their festivities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdon Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast within walking distance of the City centre. Great car park and garden at the back. It was in the heatwave so Pam gave us two fans - which helped!

Lovely breakfast and the black pudding was great! The room was at the front and the busy traffic woke us up but the windows were open fully as it was so hot!

Room Tip: The best bit was seeing Tony in his cycling shorts when we were have a drink in the garden later on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay here and in particular mentioning Tony in his cycling shorts! I have to live with that!!
It was a very hot week and we do appreciate that it can be quite noisy with traffic at the front when the windows are open which of course they will be at this time of year. Fans and ear plugs are provided in all the rooms to try and ensure everyone has the most comfortable stay they can. If rooms are available at the rear of the house we will always move guests if required subject to availability. Our location is great for easy access to all the attractions and being able to leave your car but noise can be a problem in the hotter months. See you next time when you may experience Tony in his Tri suit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Apple House for two nights from Friday 5 to Sunday 7 July in a double room and we were delighted with our stay. We chose this guest house as we were visiting York to see the Mallard 75 exhibition at the National Railway Museum (NRM). As we were fortunate enough to obtain tickets for the early morning private view from 8 to 10am we were looking for accommodation within walking distance of the museum.

We chose Apple House because of its location and price. It’s a small family run guest house located in a row of Georgian terraced houses. The current owners have transformed the house into the beautifully maintained property it is today and there are some fascinating photographs in an album in dining room which shows the house before and during building works.

Apple House is located a very convenient 5 – 10 minute walk from York Railway Station via a shortcut through the long stay car park. We arrived by train and found the directions on the website very easy to follow.

When we arrived just after midday and were warmly welcomed by Pam. We were shown up to Golden Delicious our bedroom on the second floor. Note there are stairs and no lift. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a double bed, bedside tables, dressing table, two chairs, flat screen television, wardrobe space and a chest of draws. There was an ensuite shower room with walk in shower, toilet and sink. The hospitality tray came with a selection of hot drinks, 2 bottles of mineral water, biscuits and a Yorkie chocolate bar. Our room overlooked the front of the house and throughout our stay our windows remained opened due to the unusually hot weather we were not unduly troubled by noise although we face a main road. We also had a fan in our room.

Apple House offers bed and breakfast facilities. Although breakfast starts at 8am when Pam heard that we needed to be at the NRM for 8am she invited us to come down for breakfast for 7.15am. There were two breakfast rooms, one of which contained the buffet. This consisted of cereal, fruit and fruit juice. There was waitress service for the hot food and hot drinks. There was a choice of full English breakfast, a vegetarian option and lighter breakfast options. No other meals were provided at the Apple House.

The accommodation was a 15 minute walk into the centre of York and we walked everywhere. We noted it was also on a bus route and there was a car park at the rear of building. There were restaurants, cafes and pubs in the vicinity of Apple House if one does not want to go too far.

We were very happy with our stay, particularly the friendly service, and would be pleased to stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Your review is lovely and we so appreciate you taking the time to give such detailed feedback. We love our bed and breakfast and take great pride in providing comfortable accommodation with the best service we can. Providing breakfast early is never a problem (within reason!) and we always endeavour to make all guests holidays as good as they can be. The Great Gathering at the National Railway Museum was a huge success and we are fortunate to be just a short walk away.

We very much hope to see you again next time you visit York and thank you again for your comments. It is very reassuring to us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple House Guest Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.