We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Premier inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North to your Saves list
Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North
20 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £80
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in York
nottingham uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Reliable Premier inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed here as part of a group during the mayday bank holiday, & wouldnt have wanted to be anywhere else. Clean and comfortable are the key words here.
All staff are a credit to the chain, always giving a genuine smile and a cheery hello whenever you past reception.
The hotel is well situated about 10-15 minutes walk to the city centre and its attractions and has a Wetherspoons pub (The Punchbowl) just across the road which has the normal great value menu associated with all their pubs. Breakfast at the hotel is an 'all you can eat' buffet type and is excellent value for money at £8.25 pp offering full english, continental, juices ect
Would definately return when in York

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    327
    89
    42
    11
See reviews for
202
369
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have just arrived back from a lovely 2 night break in York with our 2 very good friends. We stayed at Blossom St North and the staff were lovely and helpful, the place was clean and the only downside for me was having to go out of the hotel and walk down the road to breakfast room. The weather was fine so wasn't really an issue but had it been raining I don't think I would have been happy. The stairs were a bit of a problem and we didn't see a lift and were shown the door to go upstairs. We only had small cases with us but would have a problem if they were any larger! York is lovely but it is expensive! The breakfast is very nice and the evening meal was lovely. Having booked the rooms on a really good rate the break was well worth it and affordable.
Many thanks to Premier Inn once again.

Room Tip: 1111 is a large room with shelves in the wardrobe where as 1112 has a small wardrobe area no shelves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel for a mid-week (Wed-Fri) two night break attracted primarily by the central location within easy reach of the city centre. Turn left out of this hotel and fifteen minutes walk later you're in the centre of York.

As a few of the other reviews have pointed out getting parked can be a bit of an issue so we planned to arrive early and walk to the Railway Museum before checking in. When we first arrived we found ourselves at a car park by some office buildings with a helpful Premier Inn notice telling us not to park there and giving some further directions. A bit of (on foot) exploring later found the actual hotel car park which has approx. thirty spaces. When we arrived (around 10am) there were only about 5 cars in there but I did see it filling up later in the day. The overflow car park is an NCP about 5 mins walk away. Total cost of parking from 10am Wednesday to when we left on Friday lunchtime was £17. The parking machine takes the usual credit/debit cards.

The hotel itself is separated into a number of buildings (with appropriate York names; Viking, Jorvik etc.) and you have to walk between them to get anywhere. Not a problem while we were there in fine weather but maybe not ideal in worse conditions. The reception itself is behind a Costa Coffee (there's a seperate 'back door' entrance form the car park) and the staff were extremely helpful at all times during our stay (maps of York on hand). There’s also a useful stand containing leaflets on various tourist attractions. The restaurant for breakfast / dinner is a little way up the street.

Our room was exactly what you’d expect from this chain. Clean and functional but if you want luxuries like biscuits with your brew and smelly stuff for the bath you’ll have to pay more somewhere else. Bed itself was huge and comfortable with a choice of pillows; hard and soft. TV worked ok with choice of freeview channels. Heating control allowed you to set a temperature as required. No problems with noise or any other disturbances during the night but don’t plan on a lie in on a Friday because the bin lorry arrives around eight and can be heard with an open window. My only criticism was that even though there was a lift up to our floor (2nd) the corridor itself did have a few stairs on it, so be prepared to lift your bags or request a ground floor room.

Breakfast in the restaurant was a fantastic serve yourself as much as you want affair (£9 I think) – ideal for a day exploring the city. We also chose to have an evening meal there on one night which again was excellent with very good service and a reasonable price. If you feel like something a little different there’s numerous other options within seconds walking time including an excellent Italian (Delrio’s) and a Weatherspoons chain pub.

Overall very happy with the stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here overnight 30 th april . Wonderful service Before we arrived I had received two texts asking if I needed to book anything special or a table for dinner . We didn't need either but was impressed they had asked . Check in was easy a room was ready early so we were able to put all the bags in and go out . we didn't have any meals in but the quality looked good . The rooms we had were on the first floor two double rooms opp one another . Lovely and clean . A wonderful nights sleep ,good shower and plenty of space to dump our shopping . Check out next day was 10 am but they let us leave our bags till it was time to catch the train in the afternoon . that for me was the clincher ! We will be booking again now !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a great location. You can walk into York through the historic Micklegate Bar. Visit Holy Trinity Church with its fabulous exhibition on its monastic life and use the interactive touch screens. Then pass St Martins Church and see what the newly opened Stained Glass Centre is offering. Visit the superb museum in Micklegate Bar and wander this historic area. Just off Micklegate is Bishophill with lovely St Mary's and its Saxon Tower. Then walk into the city and explore the Minster.After a hectic day return to this clean friendly hotel and relax!
Richard Seed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not one of their finest hotels. We stayed here as part of a UK tour, which included one other Premier Inn that we have rated as 5-star. For the most part it offers the standard, functional service one would expect, and it does this well. Where it fails badly is if you're driving to it.
Firstly, their own car park is tiny and chaotic. We drove in to it but found it full. No big deal, we'd arrived fairly late so expected this. But it's so tiny and twisted that you can not turn aroundand need to reverse through it to get out. With the bends in the road this is fairly risky. We left the car outside for a moment and ran in to ask advise on where to park. We were directed to "go left, over the bridge, and left into the car park". We did this, it was quite a distance, and we found ourselves parked in the station car park. It seemed a little odd, so wen we finally got back to the hotel and checked in, I confirmed that we were supposed to be in that station car park. The receptionist confirmed that this was right. In the morning I asked the hotel to stamp my car parking ticket (they do this to get you a reduced rate of £9.00 per night) only to be told we'd used the wrong car park! The receptionist on duty simply shrugged her shoulders when I said we'd been explicitly told to use that car park AND confirmed it with her colleague the previous night. I requested that the manager chat to us. She came out promptly and apologised, saying that the wrong directions had been given by a new member of staff who clearly had the "wrong end of the stick" as to where we should have parked. She requested that I phone her once we had left the car park and she would refund the fee. I called, she wasn't there, and the promised return phone call has yet to come, two days later. Very disappointing.

Despite this, the hotel is in an excellent location, right outside the city walls. For that I'd recommend staying here - if you're travelling by train!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service and I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we have failed to achieve this. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will ensure this is followed up with the Management Team. Thank once again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We travelled to York recently (early April 2013) for a weekend stay (Friday - Sunday).

For those that are not familiar with the Premier Inn setup in York, their two locations on Blossom Street are literally yards away from each other. I mean literally, there is only a pub separating them.

Everything about this hotel was very good.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant. No complaints at all.
Room was well sized, very clean and spacious. Only issue was a shower that was not height adjustable and that affected my wife as she is a foot shorter than I am.
Bed was on the firm side but a good night's sleep was had nevertheless.

Location was brilliant.

Although we drove and parked in the Nunnery Lane carpark and then moved to the local NCP, the hotel is close to the railway station. Certainly within walking distance.

From the hotel, you are mere yards away from the walled city. You can climb the stairs to the old wall and follow it to the river and the wonders that York offers. Sightseeing is a breeze.

A great value hotel from a big chain that seems to take a personal approach to your stay.

I'd use this hotel again without a second thought.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North

Address: 20 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in York
#14 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for amenities and attractions including York train station, York Minster, the National Railway museum and the historic city walls. Our York City Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee may be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City Centre (Blossom Street North) Hotel York
York Premier Inn
Premier Lodge York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.