We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
REDUCE BEST RATE BY 10%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We enjoyed a two night break away here during half term with our teenage son on our first visit to York. Our room was spacious and clean for the three of us room no. 40. The breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and all the staff were friendly and attentive. A short walk into town and parking on site so could leave the car too. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your relaxing trip and had an excellent stay all round.

When returning to York please make sure to give us a call/email and we will be delighted to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    210
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
496
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just come back from The Groves and it was all in all a very pleasant stay. We were greeted by Edward who was friendly and informative and gave us a map and directions to the City Centre. The hotel is located in a lovely quiet area a direct 10 min walk from Yorkminster. We booked directly so benefited from free wit-fi and parking which was great.
However, I feel the price point we paid was way too high at £137 for one night. The room was very small (about 10 ft wide!) and not very modern and I don't feel it warranted the price. York was very busy so I understand demand for hotels was high however it is nearly double what I have paid for a 5 Star City Centre hotel before.
That said, the room was extremely clean and the bathroom was lovely. I would visit again and happily pay around £70-80 a night but no more I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Owner at The Groves, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased your stay was generally good.

I am sorry you thought we were overpriced on that particular day. Prices were higher because you booked very late, only wanted to stay on Saturday and compounding it further it was York Races - demand was high. I checked midweek and our prices were relatively very competitive with 5 star priced at £480 per night. Do check a future race Saturday and I hope you'll find my statement is accurate.

I was pleased you took advantage of our direct booking offering free-wifi, free breakfast and parking all charged extra in most other establishments!

Obviously we are as disenchanted as you when we receive such comments but hope you will give us another try when you are next considering York ....... but do try to avoid York Races weekends for much better value.

Kind regards

David
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband on a rainy day in may.
Arrived too early for check in, but we were able to leave the car no problem. It's about 10 minute walk to town centre, so pretty convenient.
Staff were very efficient and professional. If there was no one at the desk, then someone arrived within seconds of ringing the bell.
We had booked a small double. It was quite limited space wise in the bedroom, but that was expected. The bathroom was a good size. The decor was very nice and it was immaculate in its cleanliness. The bed is just a standard double, so we did find it a squash, being used to a king size, but it does tell you this on their website.
Breakfast was very nice. A good choice and again, plenty of staff so service was very good.
I would definitely stop here again, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for recommending us and we are glad you were well looked after.

All our rooms are different shapes and sizes - do call/email us next time you are in York and we would be delighted to have another reservation from you. If desired a larger room can also be arranged.

Kind regards,
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Groves and had been booked in by Rabbies Trail Burners/London. It is conveniently located in a safe and usually quiet neighborhood about a ten minute walk to the York city walls. I write usually quiet, because one evening we heard the unmistakable sounds of a sporting event not too far away. It's not a complaint, as it was long finished by bedtime, and I think it added some fun to our evening as we speculated about what was happening on the pitch. We were welcomed by staff and got some help with bags up the stairs. There was both a nice wide staircase and a little spiral staircase up to our room. There is no lift, so do ask in advance if you will need a ground floor room. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful. Breakfast had a good healthy fruit salad option as well as the traditional cooked breakfast. Cold selections are served buffet style. Everyone we came into contact with on the staff were welcoming and helpful. The Groves offers excellent value for the price. We were both pleased with our stay at the Groves and would definitely consider staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
It is great to hear you were very comfortable, enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found us excellent value for money.

You have a good tip there - we have no lift so if you need a ground floor room give us a call to book and we can make sure you get a room to suit you.

If you are back in York one day we would be delighted to see you here again!

Kind regards,
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We normally stop in another hotel in St Peters Grove but have become more dissatisfied with it on each visit. We stopped at the Groves due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and it excelled our expectations. We did some searching and found the best rate was on their own website! I can't remember our room number but it was on the first floor towards the front of the hotel. Was worried at first we may get some noise from the front door but no problems. We were also worried that the hotel may be noisy as it was bigger than what we where used to, no problems, here either! Our room was very clean and tidy and the bed was really nice. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. From previous reviews I couldn't believe the comments about signs everywhere. There are the usual few at reception but nothing out the ordinary. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay all round and that we exceeded your high expectations.

Yes, that is the best traveller tip - book with us for the best rates and terms!

We are a large converted Victorian mansion however it is always quiet here on our peaceful tree-lined street. In fact we positively discourage rowdy crowds and stag/hen parties who wish to party late into the night.

We hope to hear from you again in the future for your next trip to York

Kind regards,
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were only here one night on a flying visit to York but were happy we chose The Grove, found through Trip Advisor. All members of staff whom we met were pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful.

The hotel is an old building that has been done up, and we found our room, and the furnishings of the hotel generally, charming. The place has character. Our double room on the second floor was quite roomy, able to accommodate a third person in a single bed. It was clean, comfortable and everything in good working order. In the evening we sat in the lounge area downstairs, where you can buy drinks and snacks. It has a computer for guest use, and we also received free wifi as we had booked directly through the hotel. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes level walk to York Minster, so conveniently located (you pass a Sainsbury's on the way).

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We recall your stay and are pleased to hear you were very well looked after by all staff members. Glad you liked the character of our old building and your room which provides something different from that standard chain magnolia box.

Our lounge and bar area as you have found is ideal for relaxing, reading the paper or enjoying a drink from the bar - with free wifi (and other perks) available to those who book directly with us such as yourselves.

We hope you enjoy you trip onwards to London and then safe travels back home!
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

28th May room 32 small but lovely an clean everything you need was there TV phone .Service was excellent staff really nice breakfast really good will stay again thank you for our stay highly recommend .10 min walk if that from centre !!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for recommending us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms come in different shapes and sizes such is the nature of our Victorian building.

Make sure you get in touch next time you are in York and we would be delighted to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just 11 minutes on foot to the historic city centre, at an average speed. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast service is included free in our nightly rate. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Parking is £7 per night stay - however if you reserve direct with us this is free of charge too. Wifi,that generally has a good signal, is free . The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.