We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Groves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
REDUCE BEST RATE BY 10%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

First time staying in York, chose The Groves after reading good reviews on trip advisor. Am glad to say that the service we received lived up to our expectations. The staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was a great start to the day. The room was clean and comfortable though not huge. We enjoyed our weekend at the Grove's and would return in the future. It isn't the cheapest place to stay compared to similar places we have stayed but perhaps its "the going rate" for York.. But if you want good service and a convenient location for the sights of York then we can recommend this guest house..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We were all pleased to read you had a great first visit to York.

Kind regards

David & all the staff at THE GROVES YORK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    210
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
496
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed 3 great days out in York.

The Hotel is well set out, bright and clean, with individual little finishing touches which make a change from the sometimes 'impersonal' hotel chains. It is just 10-15 minutes walk into the City centre (possibly less as we had a wheelchair to push!)

At breakfast there's a good selection to suit all tastes and the staff are genuinely friendly, efficient and attentive.
Although we seemed to be the only people to use the Bar, when we returned later in the evening, it seemed to be well stocked.

I would like to give a special mention to Gordon who dealt with our 'find' so promptly, I also hope the recipient appreciated our honesty...

Thank you for making us all feel very welcome, we will definitely return next time we visit York!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Noted with thanks! We were pleased you enjoyed the trip.

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Found this hotel by accident, whilst searching the net. Booked as reviews were excellent for this hotel.We have booked others this way previously and have been disappointed - Wow we weren't disappointed with this one though!!!!!!!
Staff very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a triple room in the York House( Behind the main house) which was excellent. Walk into York was only 10 mins and flat.
Breakfast was excellent and all staff greeted us each morning with a smile.I can also recommend the "fig Jam" - we even brought a jar back with us.
Will definitely stay here on our next visit to York.
Don't hesitate to book this hotel if you visit York as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We all recall your visit and thank you.

Yes when you take into account like all the free extras of breakfast, parking and wifi etc when you book direct with us we can work out to be much more inexpensive than even budget lodges.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to York.

Best wishes

David & all the staff at The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First time we've been to York and found this little gem of a B&B. We had booked the four poster room and the bed was one of the most comfy beds we have ever slept in. It was a hot day and the floor standing fan was much appreciated. The shower room was large and very fresh and modern. Everything was immaculately clean. The breakfast or service couldn't be faulted.

There were a couple of things though that stopped us from giving an excellent rating, eg the lack of a full height wardrobe, the cheap place mats on the bedside tables and what seemed a fairly cheap four poster bed and old fridge in the corner detracted a bit from what should be a luxurious room. Somewhat puzzling as well were plenty of notices telling us to not stub out our cigarettes in plant pots etc but the ashtrays weren't emptied! I wouldn't expect people who use pot plants as ashtrays to pay that kind of money for a night's stay tbh

We would thoroughly recommend this place though, it's a quiet and safe location, easy walking distance to the centre of York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We were all pleased to read your review and that you had a good stay.

OOOOh ouch, steam from ears!! The 4 poster bed is from 'And So To Bed' and we are still paying the loan off.

Kind regards

David & all the staff at The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed for one night. The en suite single room was very comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very welcoming. Unlike other hotels I have stayed in, the Groves was very quiet.
I would recommend the Groves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Our standard single rooms are half the size o a standard bedroom but rare to find half the price too.

Many thanks for your review of The Groves York.

David & all the staff at The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. stayed in the small double which had a very generous shower room. Looking forward to staying again in the future. Breakfast great, staff great, location great and super comfy bed. Area felt very safe at night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review especially after your last trip was to our Bootham Suite!

It was a pleasure for all of us to look after you once more.

Kind regards

David & all the staff at The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were three adults and had requested a room for 3 with single beds. They did even better. They gave us a room for 4 people. Nice and spacious. The service was great. Warm and friendly. Was given great advice about what to do and where to go... Ghost tour, meals..
The location was really walking distance into town- 10-15 minutes.
Great beds too.
Am not a vegetarian but had a go at it one morning an what a delight!
Looking forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay giving full marks for space, breakfast and everything!!

Kind regards

David & all the staff at The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just 11 minutes on foot to the historic city centre, at an average speed. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast service is included free in our nightly rate. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Parking is £7 per night stay - however if you reserve direct with us this is free of charge too. Wifi,that generally has a good signal, is free . The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.