We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CLICK FOR 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in York
England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A good base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having been wanting to go to York for a number of years, my husband and I decided that now was the time. What a great location. We arrived on Friday afternoon and didn't need the car again until the time it came to leave. 10 minute easy walk into town. Room comfortable, good choice for breakfast. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It was great to read that you were pleased with your choice - and thank you for your kind comments.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    195
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
90
456
36
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Based on the closeness to the city centre and the reviews on tripadvisor i booked a double room 26-28th march 2013! With all the snow and freezing weather was wondering wether to go to york! but the moment i arrived the warm welcome from elaine made me feel this was going to be a great stay regardless of the weather.
The room was lovely, bathroom immaculate,and very cozy with the central heating compensating for the cold outside! Must say the building is gorgeous as well with the entrance lobby and wonderful staircase to the upper rooms.
Breakfast was impeccable,very professional friendly staff with a warm personal touch, i have always stayed in premier inns up to date,for the high standards but The groves surpasses them all....Faultless!! Dont consider anywhere else just contact the hotel direct and book,
will only ever stay here when i come to york, thank you so much for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely write up. We recall your stay and all our staff have been particuarly satisfied that you enjoyed your break here.

I hope we are able to see you both again, perhaps in the Summer when we have some warmer weather.

Kind regards

David
The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my husband in march. Service was great, all staff are friendly and helpful. when we were taken to our room (25) we were very suprised. the room was gorgeous with a 4 poster bed, nicely decorated and very spacious bathroom. Location was fab just a short 10 min walk into the heart of York. To top it of breakfast was really good, would recommend to all and certainly will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We were all delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and a big thank you for 5 marks awarded. This really does help and satisfy us in our sometimes difficult jobs.

Kind regards

David
The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Not much more to say that hasn't been said before about this excellent guest house although room was smaller than we're used to.. just big enough to swing the proverbial cat ..ok for a couple of nights ....room ws spotless....breakfast could feed the 6000...good advice from receptionist to book tables for dinner in advance in recommended restaurants....would have given 5 stars if wi fi had been free ....but that's us being Scots I suppose....would recommend for weekend break...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Glad to read everything was more than satisfactory for your recent stay. It was nice to hear our staff, with lot of local knowlege helped and advised you throughout your stay

Rooms are tiny to tennis court size (Im serious) and dependant upon the price you pay.... Weekends being the most expensive time. Ask for mid week specials!!

We offer FREE parking & FULL breakfast service. We offer a FREE fast internet service with 3 signals. However if you book through a 3rd party then we charge a flat £4 connection fee for life as we have 20% commission to pay to travel sites.

David
Manager The Groves York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This B&B is located within a 15minute walk from the beautiful city centre.

The place itself feels more like a hotel than a B&B, but the room was very nice and clean. Couldn't find a fault with it. There is a good selection for breakfast and was tasty.

There is parking on site which is a bonus, as the streets are mainly for residents only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and delighted you found everything faultless.

Another star point would have been great, wink wink!!

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

we stayed here 18/03/13 to 20/03/13 for our anniversary what a great and friendly hotel this is short 10 min walk into york all in all it was brill. thanks to all the staff for making our stay so comfortable will stay here again thanks again jenny and terry room 36

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Delighted you had such a pleasant anniversary break in York.

Thank you for your comments - very satisfying for us too.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here with 3 of my sisters and we had room 39 which had a double bed and 2 singles. There was a dressing table and mini fridge which was great. Bathroom was very nice and plenty of towels. You could buy things at the hotel if you had forgotten anything like toothbrush, cotton buds etc. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of it. All the staff were very friendly. 15 mins walk to town. Would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We recall your visit and remember your saucy sense of humour too!

Please you had a great time and found everything perfect here.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just minutes on foot to the historic city centre. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Free parking until checkout. Wifi(that generally has a good signal) flat fee of £4. The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.