We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
REDUCE BEST RATE BY 10%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldham, GTr Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It was our first stay in a large double room which was a nice size room for the two of us. Very clean with a comfortable memory foam mattress which gave us a sound sleep. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a good selection of rooms available, we chose a large double which was on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind full marks review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    210
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
496
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my third visit. There is always a risk in returning to somewhere in case it's a disappointment. But again this was a fantastic stay. Each room I have stayed in has been clean, comfortable and thoughtfully decorated. The breakfasts are excellent and the selection of unusual preserves (Strawberry & champagne this time) excellent. I continue to thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is satisfying that so much of our trade is repeat customers and we were delighted to see you once again at The Groves.

We continue to put great effort into enhancing the guests experience within the limitations of this old building. Each room is different shapes and sizes so do ask if you have any preferences.

Thanks for coming back to us and look forward to your 4th stay!!

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank everyone at The Groves for a first class stay and congratulate them on their obvious ability to run a successful hotel.
A birthday treat for my wife - we stayed in a large double room at the Groves over the last weekend of the York Chritmas Market.
The hotel is very well situated down a quiet cul-de-sac within easy walking distance of the north end of the city (10 - 15 mins from the Minster). The staff are very friendly and helpful always greeting you with a warm smile and are an asset to the hotel.
Although the hotel appeared to be very busy - if not full - our perception was that it was empty as during the whole time in the room, we did not hear a single sound from any of the other guests. The room and the the hotel generally is decorated to a high standard and there was a lovely decorated Christmas tree positioned on the first landing overlooking the reception area.
Our room was extremely comfortable with everything you would need including a dressing table (for the wife) and large screen led tv (for me whilst she was getting ready). The bed was also very comfortable and we both slept like logs on both nights.
The breakfast room was a little tight but again it was spotless and a nice place to be. This was when we realised how busy the hotel was, but the staff were never ruffled and appeared to serve everyone quickly, efficiently and with a smile. The full english breakfast was tasty and plentiful but if I were to be extremely picky, I would say that the beans looked to be a little insipid. Everything else made up for this minor flaw especially the large variety of locally made jams and marmalades, the apricot brandy being our favourite.
We both loved our first stay in York and will return to explore it further. When we do - our first choice of accomodation will be The Groves

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We were all delighted to read your full marks review and satisfied you hard a great stay.

I will write to Heinzies Beanzies and apologide on their behalf for insipid beans!! Dont know what was wrong with the beans on that day. Anyway glad everything else was tickety boo and we were all encouraged by your happiness.

We try our best at all times.

See you again later in the year hopefully.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed for two nights in four poster room- a little more expensive but worth it for the extra space. All the staff are friendly but the two ladies on reception deserve a special mention for bring so helpful. hotel is only a short walk from the minster. large car park a bonus. I recommend Rustique and Ask as lovely restaurants. Hotel breakfast will keep you going most of the day. Nice little bar in hotel for a night cap.
We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
So glad you liked our new 4 poster room which is developing nicely into a fab luxury room.

Also pleased our staff attended to your needs properly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon>??

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a birthday treat, starting with lively shopping and drinking night in Leeds then travelling to York for a quiet relaxing finish to the weekend. Great B and B short work from a lovely part of York and easy to access without driving through the centre using the bypasses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Such a lovely stay again only wished we could stop longer . The staff are so nice and friendly the breakfast in the morning fantastic . Newly refurbished rooms are very clean . Nice little walk into York only 10 mins max . Cant wait to go back . If you want a very very cozy first class hotel with staff that are so nice and friendly give this one a try . I can not praise it enough . If the owner or manager reads this thank you and your staff for making my birthday treat very special

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I was so pleased you enjoyed your repeat stay. There is no better job satisfaction is seeing guests returning.

Im glad to hear our staff were spot on with you - theyll be wanting a pay rise next!!. Seriously it is great to hear such comments.

Once again thanks for your great review and keep on coming to stay please!!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed overnight with my Partner last October following a strenuous walking weekend and found The Groves a great place to relax and enjoy York City. We had requested a room in the main house (following advice in previous reviews) and were not disappointed. It was a large double with an ensuite, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels, nicely decorated & an extremely comfortable bed with big flat screen TV. Parking was free the day we arrived and we were happy to pay a small fee the following day allowing us to explore the city on foot. It was approx a 10 minute flat walk to the Minster and the centre of the city. Staff were extremely helpful providing a map and suggesting places to visit and eat - would highly recommend the York Museum. We were served in the bar by a new member of staff and our query about measures was immediately dealt with by the Manager. The full English Breakfast was extremely good as was the service. We will definitely be making a return visit in the autumn.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main house, worth paying a little extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review which we were all pleased to read.

We look forward to seeing you again should you ever reconsider a visit.

Kind regards

David
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just 11 minutes on foot to the historic city centre, at an average speed. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast service is included free in our nightly rate. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Parking is £7 per night stay - however if you reserve direct with us this is free of charge too. Wifi,that generally has a good signal, is free . The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.