We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
REDUCE BEST RATE BY 10%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

family of five including parents, two college age children and grandparent stayed here two nights in may. we stayed in two rooms in the back cottage; one of the rooms which connected to another smaller room for one of our college age children, the other fit in our room, my mother had a room of her own. In any event, very comfortable, very roomy, excellent breakfast, comfortable lounge area in the main house and easy walk to York. A peaceful oasis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
We recall your recent visit well and pleased you enjoyed your visit to York and The Groves.

Gordon
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    209
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
494
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

back from a lovely weekend at the groves, nothing was too much for the owners who made the stay very enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in York.

Should you consider a re-visit in the future then do call or email us. We will be pleased to provide very competitive rates.

Thanks again

David
Reservations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a great three days in York and the Grove was an excellent place to stay, would recommend it. It is positioned on a quiet road off of a main drag into the centre. It was very easy to get into the Minster, the central attractions and the multitude of places to visit and eat. The room was at the front of the hotel but still very quiet and not overlooked. The staff were friendly and helpful, even though we turned up a little early. Nice old building, well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you and hope to see you again next time you may be visiting York.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The Groves is an elegant old house in a quiet, leafy sidestreet, easily accessed from the A1, with ample onsite parking facilities and just ten minutes' stroll from the centre of York. The welcome was warm and friendly, and we were given a large simply-decorated room, up two narrow, winding flights of stairs. Our room had a single bed which was a little spongey for our taste, and a standard double which gave a very good night's sleep. The ensuite was a good size, with a large shower cabinet; although not high-powered the shower was perfecly adequate. The TV was huge, probably a 42" screen. There was plenty of clothes storage space, the window was on the side of the building and gave a limited view of the street, and there was no external noise at all to disturb us.

Breakfast choices included a full cooked breakfast and a large continental option. I opted for a full vegetarian breakfast and my wife had salmon and scrambled egg; both were first class. Throughout our two-night stay service was relaxed but efficient, friendly and helpful. The Groves is an excellent choice, and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Arrive early for the best parking spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for your realistic review and pleased you enjoyed the trip to The Groves and York.

David
Hoover Driver (;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Groves is situated just a few minutes stroll from the centre of York. We stayed in a family room in the annexe building, with two adults and a teenager sharing a room. The room and ensuite bathroom were freshly (and tastefully!) decorated and spotlessly clean with sparkling white sheets and towels. Breakfast was excellent; my husband and daughter enjoyed the full English, whilst I took advantage of the delicious vegetarian and continental options available. I would recommend The Groves to anyone and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
We are pleased that you found everything satisfactory in our newly refurbished annexe, York House. Thank you for an encouraging full marked review.

Should you be reconsidering York again then please telephone us on 01904 559777 for reservations or email us with your needs.

So glad you enjoyed your valuable free time with us.

David
Tittivator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The following review is written by my grandparents, they don't have access to the internet but enjoyed their stay at this hotel so much that they asked my to post this on their behalf.

"Had a wonderful stay, great food comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff, no hesitation in highly recommending."

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
We particuarly enjoyed looking after your grand parents and please pass on our thanks and best wishes for such a positive review. We do try our best here and it is encouragement when we receive such comments as from your Grandparents.

We would be delighted to be considered should they be thinking of a revisit. The best way is to EMail us or Telephone us to ensure we find the most suitable room for there needs.

Thanks again for writing on their behalf. Kind regards,

David

Hotel Partner & Odd Jobs Person
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in April 2011. The hotel is well positioned being 10 to 15 minutes walk to downtown York. The prices are reasonable. I payed £45 per night for a single room. The WiFI is £3 as a one off charge. I stayed in the outer building (upstairs) and found that sometimes I could not get the WIFI signal. I was told that they are constantly improving on the internet and would look into this. The main building worked ok.

The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV. Breakfast was good with a choice of full English, continental and choice of various juices, tea and coffee.

There is a short cut to the National Railway Museum via Bootham Terrace. It means you don't have to walk into town amd then around to the museum. Ask at the frond desk for a map.

This hotel was very good value. The staff and owners are friendly. Car parking at the hotel is reasonable and cheaper than using the citys.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank your for your fair appraisal. We clearly recall your stay and it was our pleasure to be of service. Whilst I realise you were 'long haul' we would be delighted to be considered for any future re-visit - please email us or telephone us with your requirements.

Kind regards from all at The Groves York

David
Wi-fi Password Distribution Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just 11 minutes on foot to the historic city centre, at an average speed. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast service is included free in our nightly rate. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Parking is £7 per night stay - however if you reserve direct with us this is free of charge too. Wifi,that generally has a good signal, is free . The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.