We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs and Trains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holmwood House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holmwood House to your Saves list
Holmwood House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   112 - 114 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stairs and Trains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What we liked:
* The room was very clean and well serviced.
* The power-shower was to die for!
* Breakfast was very good with quality bacon and sausages
* Excellent view over York from the back rooms
* Onsite car parking
* Friendly welcome
* Approx 20 minutes walk to the wall & a direct foot path to the rail museum & train station.

Our Moans:-
* Rooms 11 & 12 are on the third floor. This is 53 stairs up from the ground floor plus and additional 13 stairs to the breakfast basement, therefore a round trip for breakfast and back was 132 stairs. After eating way too much food at breakfast the climb back up is hard as there is no lift.
* Room needs thicker curtains to hold out the morning sun.
* Wifi useable, but not stable on the third floor.

Out of the hotels control:
* Trains going past at 04:30am sounding their whistles!

We have visited York a few times and stayed at the Holmwood once before. My advice is to check which floor you are on, I am a reasonably fit 40yr old cyclist and at the end of a long day or after too much food the final push up to the third floor is hard!

Next time I will take ear plugs and a sleep mask :)

Room Tip: Check which floor your room is as there is no lift. Rooms at the rear have the view but could be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    34
    22
    5
See reviews for
17
97
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked for three nights to renew memories of York. Comfortable large room on ground floor as requested. Bathroom in need of a little TLC though has everything we needed. Assistance with our extremely heavy suitcases was readily provided. Breakfast options extensive and excellent value. Staff were always ready to give local and advice and help on places to see or things to do.

Room Tip: The ground floor tends to be somewhat noisy as it is close to the Reception Desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked a family room, and we where not disappointed, lovely big room very clean with en suite shower room. Staff very friendly and helpful talked us through how to get into York and gave us maps.Great location, about 15 minute walk into York and has its own car park at know extra cost. Breakfast was a great variety to suit everyone and nothing was any trouble to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived way too late.... due to trouble on the trains. The hosts were extremly friendly and easy about it even thought they probably would have wanted to got to bed several hours ago.

It was a beautiful room, morning sun through the window (I know... that might not ave anything to do with the B&B, but it contributed to the overall stay), very spacious room and bathroom, clean, tidy and fresh.

The bed was comfortable and the fresh, crisp bedlinen was good too. Enough pillows.

All in all a great room.

Thank you - I would come back next time we're in York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very comfortable B&B, and staff helpful and full of information. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Excellent location. Quite garden for sitting and getting one's breath back. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had booked into the Holgate Hotel but on arrival were told we had been allocated a room in the next door hotel - Holmwood House. We were in room 11 at the very top of the hotel but the view was worth the climb up the stairs. The room had everything you needed - nice big bathroom. Staff were friendly and very helpful - providing maps, directions and recommendations. Breakfast was nice and set us up for the day. Nice free secure car park at the back of the building so could leave the car and not worry about it until we left. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 11 although a climb up the stairs, the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dirty room, dirty bathroom with poor quality fittings. The toilet handle was loose and there were cracks in the floor tiles. Dust all over the bedroom! The place seemed to be manned by two teenage girls who although very pleasant were not very interested in the guests comfort. The only good thing about it was the breakfast. Very expensive for a poor quality B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood House

Address: 112 - 114 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holmwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.