We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bloomsbury to your Saves list
The Bloomsbury
127 Clifton, York YO30 6BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 215 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We can safely agree with other trip advisor members that this is a great gem of a B and B. Steve and Tricia are fantastic hosts and you can tell they enjoy their work as it shows in every aspect of the quality of the B and B.
A short walk to the centre along the road or you can find the path along the river.
Breakfast was fantastic, set us up for the rest of the day.
The only slight downfall was the temperature in our room. A bit warm despite turning off the radiators. Either a sign of us not being able to cool down after a long day exploring York or a good sign of a well insulated building.
Thank you for looking after us and we will be sure to spread great words about the Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
346
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Bloomsbury was the venue for our Spring get together last weekend. Two of us arrived at mid-day and Steve immediately offered us a drink whilst we waited for No. 3! We fully endorse every positive review ;Tricia & Steve have really got this place absolutely right ,excellent quality from rooms to food, kept beautifully clean and a lovely warm & cosy atmosphere.Already recommending to friends & family and will definitely be coming back too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Bloomsbury was so wonderful we changed our accommodation from two nights to three. It was spacious, clean and unique. Owners Steve and Tricia leave nothing to chance. There was a delicious fresh breakfast including fruit salad and any variety of local produce cooked to perfection. Added touches included facial wipes in the bathroom, bottled water and even a complimentary drinking chocolate. The owners and staff were warm, friendly and informative. We had a wonderful stay and have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous B&B.

Room Tip: Each room has an individual identity so let the owners know of your particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

With a very warm welcome, lovely rooms & a smashing breakfast this is a really nice place to stay.
We stayed for a weekend, and found the 20 minute walk into York itself was pleasant, especially when we took the owners advice (Steve & Trisha) and did the riverside walk.

There's plenty to do in York (loads of pubs!), with attractions that will keep the kids happy too.
Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at The Bloomsbury. I booked this trip as a xmas present for my partner and wanted some accommodation with character and after much reviewing of other hotels and B&B's I decided to book The Bloomsbury. I'm very glad we stayed here and everything about our stay was great. We received a very warm welcome from Steve on our arrival and he showed us to our room, Wisteria. The room was lovely, nice decor and very cosy. All essentials (tea, coffee, etc) was provided in your room and also some extras such as cotton wool, face wipes, etc which is a nice touch. Off road car parking was available. The breakfast room was light and airy and the breakfasts were really good with plenty of choice available. It took about 15 minutes to walk into York, either down a main road or via the river of which we did both. Steve, Tricia and Harvey (the dog) were very friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay in York.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I visited last weekend for two nights and found the Bloomsbury a brilliant place to stay! Tricia and Steve are so friendly and make you feel really welcome (so does their little dog). On arrival Steve made us fresh coffee and bought it up to our room - it was a nice touch after our drive. Throughout the B&B is feels homely and it's absolutely spotless. We had the Petunia room on the top floor with en-suite which was great for our two night stay but if I was staying longer I'd probably pay more for one of the bigger rooms. The Bloomsbuy is a nice 20 minute stroll into the centre of York, either along the road or you can walk along the river for a change of scenery. It also has parking which is a bonus. One of the highlights is the breakfast so make sure you don't miss it! We had the english breakfast both days with locally sourced ingredients but there is also a selection of toast, cereal, fresh fruit or event some specials like fish on request! The Bloomsbury is the best B&B we've stayed in and when we visit York again we will definitely stay at the Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent 2 days at the Bloomsbury and thoroughly enjoyed it. Well placed for a gentle stroll into the centre of York, either along the road or the river path. Lovely well appointed room, comfortable bed, beautifully clean, free parking, and excellent home cooked breakfast with really good local produce. Tricia and Steve are greats hosts, friendly and informative.
If you dislike the anonymity of the typical hotel these days, I do urge you to try the Bloomsbury - its what a B&B should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks Richard and Caroline for a great review, our first of 2013 since we've re-opened after our break to re-charge batteries! It was a real pleasure having you both here. All the very best for 2013!
Best regards, Steve and Tricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 127 Clifton, York YO30 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Guest House, sympathetically restored to its former grandeur in a leafy part of York. Within easy walking distance of the centre. Tastefully decorated with quality furnishings. All rooms have flat screen TVs with freeview. With a 4* Silver rating, a Breakfast Award and hosts Tricia and Steve doing all they can to enhance your stay. You are assured of a great time at The Bloomsbury. Free parking and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bloomsbury Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.