We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quality and service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filmore and Union

Filmore and Union
62a Low Petergate, York, England
01904 654123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Filmore and Union we have a huge passion for fresh, vibrant and healthy foods. Energizing breakfasts; inspirational lunches; wholesome suppers all made daily within our cool relaxed setting. F or dinner join us in our upstairs restaurant and maybe try the seared salmon with chilli, lime paprika, lemongrass and ginger on a bed of harissa potatoes and lentils all made with love and care from our open kitchen. Reservations advised. All day fabulous Sunday brunch, kids menu, fully licenced & Wi-Fi. The street level Deli offers bagels, salads, delicious juices, hearty soups & pastas as well as healthy cakes (even our chocolate brownies!)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful quality and service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My friends and I ate from the dinner menu at Filmore and Union and we were highly impressed with every dish we chose. The food was fresh, healthy and tasted delicious. The choice of fresh juices was great too! The staff were very knowledgable about their products and menu which helped us overcome our indecisiveness and we didn't feel we were a burden by asking lots of questions. The service was friendly and attentive whilst still feeling relaxed. All in all we had a great evening in very pleasant surroundings. I will definitely be recommending Filmore and Union to other friends and will visit their Victoria Quarter branch when in Leeds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    93
    33
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wife and I fancied a coffee and cake and decided on the spur of the moment to walk into Filmore and Union. What a great find. Coffee nice and hot and well prepared. Great slices of cake. Wife had orange and lavender with pistachio cake for me. Served with fromage frai and blueberries in a little pot on the side. Great friendly staff with a healthy menu, what's not to like. Next time you are in York don't miss.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Guest Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Bash!

Thanks for visiting Filmore and for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you found us on the busy streets of York, we have a great team of in-house baristas and also our own brand of coffee which combined makes the perfect match! The Orange & Lavendar cake is also my favourite cake, and the best thing about all our cakes is they are made with natural sweetners which make them 100% guilt free!

See you again soon,

Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakes district
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we was promised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had been recommended filmore and union by a close friend and we was definitely not let down.
The food was pricey but you get what you pay for, beautifully presented and hot!!!
The staff and manager were attentive and very welcoming.
We will 100% be returning again and definitely be recommending to others. It's a must when in York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was a bad day?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had visited this place before in Wetherby and been really impressed, walked into this place at 1145 on a Sunday in York to be greeted by a family of 3 complaining about the time it was taking for their food! We sat down and were immediately asked if we would like to go upstairs as there was waitress service…well why not! We immediately ordered some coffees as we sat down and perused the menu. Quite frankly the Sunday brunch menu (nothing else available) we were presented with was just too fancy and pricy for a place like this, bagels starting at £12.95 really??? We ordered coffees and slices of cake, coffees took 10 mins to arrive and when they did they were warm, the cakes made an appearance 10 mins later and the coffees got sent back!

Not a great exp but perhaps it was just a bad day, however places like this can not afford bad days!

Oh and the toilet that is behind the deli counter downstairs, not sure how hygienic that is and its tiny!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Public Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi We are sorry you were not happy with your visit , we do serve our coffee at a temperature which is recommended by our roasterie to bring out the maximum flavour and we are aware that this is not as hot as high street coffee houses serve , however our regular coffee lovers are really happy with this but we are always happy to do a hotter coffee if asked .

The bagels on our menu are actually full meals served with a bagel and as all our food is made fresh to order there can be a slightly longer wait however you can chat to our chefs and watch them make your food in our open kitchen !!

Thank you

Beth

Filmore and Union
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pull your socks up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The staff were friendly and welcoming but the restaurant is rather cramped and the single downstairs wc is extremely small and uncomfortable.
The menu looked promising but the food was served on stone cold plates and my husband's moussaka was luke warm and had to be reheated. The price of his meal was deducted from the bill, though. My tagine was tasty but the portion was small considering the cost which was about £11. We also ordered mint tea with honey but it had very little mint and too much honey.
On the tables were jam jars with a few flowers in but the water in each vase was very discoloured and was quite off putting. I heard the people on the next table also commenting on this.
I am sad that I have had to put a critical review on here but I feel that Filmore and Union would be very successful with a bit more effort . I like their interesting menu of healthy food. Unfortunately when you have had a bad experience you rarely go back . There is so much competition in York that you have to be very good to succeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
477Wil, Guest Relations Manager at Filmore and Union, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi We are sorry about your recent experience with us , we are a small quirky restaurant in one of the oldest buildings in York and cant have a bigger toilet !! We have addressed your food issues with our chefs as this is unusual for us but please try us again !!

Regards

Beth

Filmore and Union
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filmore and Union also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Filmore and Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filmore and Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.