We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holmlea Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holmlea Guest House to your Saves list
Holmlea Guest House
6 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely little guest house. Very clean and well organised. Enjoyed all the little extras. Good location only a 15 minute walk from the city centre. sara was very helpful. Telling us where to eat. You must try the olive tree restaurant. Amazing food

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Holmea in York as part of a 7 week holiday. We have stayed in many B&B's during this time.Sara had done a fantastic job with each of the rooms. Ours was very small but immaculate. It is recently decorated and absolutely the best is made of a small space. It was so bright and cheery. It was well located and quiet. Parking was available directly across the road and a permit supplied. As others have commented the owners do not live on site but all the directions were clear about entry and parking permits etc. Breakfast was delivered to your room at exactly the time you nominated. I probably would have preferred to have it in dining room because it is easier to eat and gives you a chance to talk to other travellers and exchange travel tips. However it is not a reason not to go here and the bonus is you can lounge around in bed. Sara has done a great joy in redecorating and it was a pleasure to stay at Holmea. Also we had no trouble with wifi.

Room Tip: Ask Sara for the biggest room available. They are all decorated differently but look fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Holmlea is a lovely stop over. WiFi was not available on my first stay as I was on the top floor. It worked perfectly on the ground floor when I returned. Breakfast is served to your room which is lovely. Quality of bed and linen is good. Really clean and convenient for all the central attractions of York. I had my bike with me and could easily reach the riverside and vast network of cycling paths. I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sybil1968, Owner at Holmlea Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
In response to the comments about WiFi access on the top floor room, I have now installed a WiFi booster so that there is a consistent coverage throughout the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a lovely time in York staying at holmlea, we had the whole top floor to ourselves my husband and my friend it was like having our own penthouse. Peaceful no fuss or hassle breakfast in bed. Suited us perfect, lovely stroll into york centre about 10-15 mins

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in Room 1, right inside the front door. The owner emailed shortly before our stay, to verify our arrival time and provide instructions to get into the building,. The owner wasn't there when we arrived, but our keys were right where she said they would be, along with some info about the room and city. The decor was quirky and fun. The only drawback was that the carpet was slightly damp near the radiator. We found it to be good value, and a short walk to the center of town!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay for two nights, arrived to no greeting just instructions and no approprate towels for a shower. Mattress was hard and so were the pillows but the room was clean and good size, bathroom little small. Woke up at midnight to regulars staggering in, shouting to one another on the landing and arguing with foul language and they didn't go quiet till 3:30am after a blazing row. No owner on site only contactable via mobile so contacted the next morning to go to voicemail and not a returned phone call until after we had to vacate the room. Once the owner was spoken to they advised me that the regulars were being evicted only to find out that they hadn't and got away with "we had more to drink than we thought and we promise to be quiet tonight" so weren't evicted. Overall disappointed that the trouble makers stayed and us being the innocent had to be punished.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sybil1968, Owner at Holmlea Guest House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
This event was a completely unacceptable one and as I pointed out to this guest, a rare one. We are a family run bed & breakfast and do not tolerate any rowdy behaviour. We do not take stag and hen parties and I am careful to vet any group bookings. The guest who was responsible for the disturbance had stayed with us three times before and had not caused any previous disturbance. I apologised profusely to this reviewer, refunded 50% of his room rate for the disturbance which he seemed happy with but he was insistent that he wanted to leave.

My first concern when I spoke with this reviewer was to assure them that I would evict the guests if they decided to stay but they chose not to and it was only hours later that they changed their minds. By this time I had talked to the guest responsible for the disturbance and she assured me that there would be no repeat of the previous night's events. I told her that if there was any noise after 10pm then I would have no hesitation in calling the police. She was very clear that her behaviour had caused a great deal of upset and was not tolerated. Had I had any doubt whatsoever that the guests would have caused any more disturbance on the following night then I would have evicted them but I was quite sure it would not happen again. I certainly did not want a house full of disgruntled guests! As I said, the guest in question had stayed on numerous occasions without any problems so I was willing to give her the benefit of the doubt.

Regarding comments about the room; the towels are a bath sheet size, the bed is a hotel, industry standard bed (everyone has different mattress requirements, we can't please everyone). As regards the 'arriving to no greeting', I contact all guests to find out an approximate arrival time and if it is at an unsociable hour or I cannot meet them then they always have the digital entry code and are made aware of this at the time of booking and then this is reiterated prior to arrival by e-mail and text. If I am not onsite then I am always at the end of the phone and never very far away.

I am very sorry that his family's weekend away was ruined by the act of another guest and completely understand his anger and frustration. We are a quiet, family centred bed & breakfast and if you read other reviews then one of the main comments is that we are 'quiet', Holmlea is quiet and this was a very rare and unforgivable event. I will be putting up signs in all rooms after this event to alert guests to the fact that if they are arriving back late to the house then to please be considerate of other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had room 1 ground floor nice clean room with a querky feel. Location is great for walking to city centre and free parking made the visit easier. Breakfast was good start to the day. Ensuite clean but shower not great. Biggest problem was a very rude guest who arrived at 1am banging and ringing door bell veryclpud as could not gain entry. In circumstances like this a clear phone number that is guaranteed to be answered may have diverted this but to be fair when I complained I did get verbal appology but was a little dismayed to be told some staff had ignored her call as it was so late. On the whole nice b&b excellent location. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Address: 6 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmlea is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of York, between the race course and city centre. We offer double, family, triple and twin rooms, all with en-suite or private non-shared bathrooms. We also have 2 ground floor rooms with wide access for the partially disabled. Holmlea accommodates up to 16 guests and offers inexpensive, high quality accommodation, with 24-hour access. Free wi-fi is available in all rooms and throughout the guesthouse. Please ask about discounts for pensioners, single occupancy concessions, longer stay guests discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.