We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what you need it to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge York Central Micklegate to your Saves list
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does what you need it to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location, two minutes walk to the city centre and right in the middle of restaurants and shops. The room itself was basic, but was clean and comfortable which is all we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    140
    112
    36
    39
See reviews for
99
151
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Breakfast was the worst I've ever had. Even the coffee and orange juice was disgusting. No services for luggage storage for customers checking out in the morning but do not catch train until the evening. Bed was also uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

On arrival the room had no curtains and then when we got moved there was another family in the room, staff did not know what they were doing and we had to sit in the corridor with a young child whilst they sorted it out, it took 3 rooms before we got a decent room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review Paula S. We would expect all of our rooms to be set up correctly so it is regrettable to learn your room did not provide the required essentials. We can also confirm that under no circumstances would we expect another guest to be given a key to another customer’s room. It appears that, due to a system error, two keys were allocated to the same room. We do have strict procedures in place to make sure this does not happen. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in York Central Micklegate for one night. The room itself was clean and provided the basic amenities you'd expect, Bed, TV, and Bathroom with Shower.

The room was clean, and even though we were on the front of the building (by the main road) we weren't really disturbed by the road noise because of the secondary glazing provided. It was also a great factor to have air con in the room, so we didn't have to open the windows.

The shower was brilliant, far better than I expected, I was genuinely impressed.

The staff on reception were friendly and courteous, as were the cleaning staff when we passed them in the corridor the following day.

The only faults we found were the noise from other rooms could quite clearly be heard, we had an amorous couple to one side, a rabble of children below us, and a family with some young screamy children next door. This all calmed down by about 8pm though and we felt that the staff were friendly enough that if we'd asked to change rooms they would have done their best to help.

There were a couple of faults with our stay overall
- the "wardrobe" wood panelling had begun to peel off and chip away which made it look a bit scruffy
- there were very few plugs for guest use within the room, there was only one nearish to a mirror that I doubt a hairdryer wire would have reached to
- I borrowed a hairdryer from reception only to get it to my room to discover that the earth pin on the hair dryer was missing, making it unusable, it also didn't have a PAT test label on it

I would consider staying here again, and I think this is a fantastic place to stay if you're a family as it's well located and right on top of York town centre as well as plenty of express supermarkets for emergency food stops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

nothing bad to say about this place. family room nice and quiet comfy beds...rooms cleaned every day lovely white fluffy towels changed daily....all for 33 quid a night!!!! perfect location for exploring york. will def return.

Room Tip: room 236 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Brilliant value. Stayed three nights - 30 pounds per night for family room. Clean rooms , friendly staff , close proximity to York city centre- all attractions within easy walk. Optional breakfast available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4 with two kids aged 6 and 7. We booked early and got a family room for only £33 a night. We added on the breakfasts at £26 and got the whole 2 night b&b for under £100. The room was no worse than you'd expect for the price but was very clean. The food was great although a little short on choice. The best part of this trip was its location. We used the NCP car park just next door, which you get a 44% discount at the hotel. Total cost was £20 for the 3 days. As it's so central we walked everywhere and with a sainsbury extra right outside the front door you have a little option for extras in the morning or evening. The wife and I visit York a lot and will definitely use this hotel again and its much
better value than a more common b&b option

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge York Central Micklegate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.