We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge York Central Micklegate to your Saves list
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Great Night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stopped here Friday 3rd January 2014, a last minute decision. We paid £45.00 per room plus £6.95 each for breakfast.

Location, excellent for central York, just by the middle bridge, ideal for everything York has to offer, 2 minutes and you are at the shops and pubs.

Parking has been mentioned in other reviews, yes on the face of it, it is expensive, but with the 41% discount the £17.90 is reduced to about £10.75 for 24 hours. You just have to make sure you get your ticket validated on Departure from the hotel, simple really, just follow the instructions.

We had 2 rooms, both identical, a decent size for a budget hotel, all very clean, modern and comfortable. A nice big comfortable bed, TV, kettle and a wonderful walk-in shower in the bathroom (no bath). What more could you ask for for the price.

Breakfast, an excellent choice of all you can eat hot and cold buffet, in a large breakfast room, no hassle plenty of food available, the hotel was quiet on our visit, but I am sure the same could be said when the hotel is busy.

I can not think of anything negative to say about our stay at this hotel, fantastic

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    140
    109
    36
    39
See reviews for
99
150
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

excellent place to stay, value for money.. within city walls, close to attractions suc as york minster, railways station, st mary's abbey and cifford tower... fast food outlets, kebab stalls and chinese takeaway are plenty.. airconditionin doesnt work well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here had a great time nice and clean etc
But be aware of your car park ticket if you stay in the ncp car park just around the corner it costs 17:90 for 24 hours and you get 45% off from the hotel BUT when you have finished your stay and you put your ticket in the machine and it still says 17:90 to pay do not pay it press the help button there and then to sort it
Because if you go back to the hotel they can't help you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel really impressed me - clean all around, our room was very well presented, the staff were always nice and helpful and the location is perfect for visitors who want to be close to the town centre. You really couldn't ask more from a budget hotel! What I loved most was the quality of the bed and mattress, it's one of the best night sleep I had in a hotel. If I was to be really picky, the only down point would be they had no housekeeping during Christmas Day and Boxing Day, but reception provided everything you needed on request (such as clean towels, extra tea and coffee etc.) so that wasn't too bad. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I cannot really fault our stay . Cheap , basic accommodation - does exactly what it says on the tin . Room was warm , staff friendly and efficient and only a few minutes walk from the city centre . Breakfast good value. The parking is about a 5 minute walk and is £10 per day

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

my husband and I stayed for one night at the Travelodge in Micklegate York this hotel has been refurbished and is lovely, our room was very clean and everything was new, the bed was most comfy, we booked the breakfast which was excellent, the location is ideal, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

wonderful Travelodge 2 mins from centre of York. v friendly staff. v clean, spacious, newly refurbished. lovely wetroom, v comfy bed, air con and temp control, nice large room, quiet. highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge York Central Micklegate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.