We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YorkBoat Guided River Trips

YorkBoat Guided River Trips
Lendal Bridge Landing, York YO1 7DP, England
01904 628324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 92 Activities in York
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YorkBoat are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one of our comfortable riverboats. We have something for everyone including sightseeing trips,BBQ cruises, relaxing lunch and dinner, party cruises and self-drive boats. Escape the city rush and relax with YorkBoat. All of our vessels have fully stocked bars, open top decks,and toilet facilities. Finalist in the 2012 Visit York Awards for Outstanding Customer Service.
Rochester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not much to see really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Quite a pleasant trip on the river but really not much to see for the money, £7.50 each. To be honest, you can see more walking around the city. Maybe better value for money if you combine it with the bus tour but we only wanted to do the river trip. Trip lasts 40 minutes and it's not long before you are out of the city environment and into more rural aspects. Not exactly comparable to a trip on the Thames for example where there is much more to see. Too expensive for what was delivered - sorry.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    88
    34
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow Boat to York...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent a lovely sunny afternoon on this trip with my gorgeous wife and in-laws, feet up, catching the rays, listening to a bit of history and after a hard days wandering around York. Although I did manage to fall asleep...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a must in York a boat trip down the river .its 45 mins and very reasonably priced.if you have a york pass you will get a discount get on at the boatyard an take a guided boat ride along the river in both directions there is a bar on board with hot and cold drinks .sit on the top deck for great views or lower deck if its a bit cold and damp as its warmer for the little kids. tops marks for this.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glad we bought the tickets as a deal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We bought York Dungeons tickets and boat tickets as a deal online and im glad we did. We personally didnt really gain anything from the tour and didnt find it very informative but we are in our 20's so is probably more suited to older people. However the staff were friendly but it just wasnt for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a great way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a lovely ride up and down river, with some entertaining and informative commentary. It was nice to drop out of the busy city for an hour and relax with a drink on board a comfortable boat. Several options for cruises available or you can take out a small boat by yourself for an hour. There are two landings (Lendal Bridge and King Staiths) - we got on the boat at King Staiths and off at Lendal Bridge which was handy for the Yorkshire Museum).

Friendly staff, clean boat with good facilities and an enjoyable time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YorkBoat Guided River Trips also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to YorkBoat Guided River Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YorkBoat Guided River Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.