We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boat trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YorkBoat Guided River Trips

YorkBoat Guided River Trips
Lendal Bridge Landing, York YO1 7DP, England
01904 628324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 92 Activities in York
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YorkBoat are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one of our comfortable riverboats. We have something for everyone including sightseeing trips,BBQ cruises, relaxing lunch and dinner, party cruises and self-drive boats. Escape the city rush and relax with YorkBoat. All of our vessels have fully stocked bars, open top decks,and toilet facilities. Finalist in the 2012 Visit York Awards for Outstanding Customer Service.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

a longer than average trip up a river, crew were well informed of local history. Seeing the local Dragon Race was a real treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    88
    34
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yorkboat river trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

What an excellent trip - the skipper really knew her stuff and, although she must have delivered the commentary several times each day, made her delivery fresh and lively - diction was excellent and delivery interesting - we could have listened to her all day!! Little bits of humour thrown in added to the trip. It was interesting to see her holding the microphone, talking to us and turning the boat in the width of the river all at the same time. The two drop off/embarcation points give easy access to different parts of mediaeval York. Well worth taking this trip

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely in the Sunshine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A fantastic trip to take on a nice day. True, you do not get to go very far or very fast. But there is an informative live commentary, a bar, and enough to keep you interested for the duration of the 45 - 60 minute tour. I might not recommend to take the trip on a cold day, but on a warm day it was wonderful. You can get a cobined boat and bus ticket, which is well worth considering.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dissapointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went on this 45 minute boat trip and travelled for about a mile up river and didn't actually see anything. This was because the river bank is so high and overgrown. We then turned round and went back the way we had come and went on for perhaps another mile before coming back. Now the second part of the trip was a bit more interesting as we were now able to see some of the buildings. In reality you could have seen most of what we did see by standing up on the bridge. Luckily the boat was not too busy or I think it would have been a bit claustrphobic. Row after row of bright orange plastic chaire crammed in with not too much leg room between them. It was only £7.50. and does give you a chance to rest your weary feet after a days walking, but then so would sitting by the river - for free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“interesting trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i live near york and really enjoyed this trip. beautiful sunny afternoon made a good start but the guide was informative and funny. £8.50 well spent! clean decent toilets too

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YorkBoat Guided River Trips also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to YorkBoat Guided River Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YorkBoat Guided River Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.