We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avondale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avondale Guest House to your Saves list
Avondale Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 213 York B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I chose this B&B to stay in as it was a short walk to the station and previous reviews had mentioned superb breakfasts and outstanding cleanliness. I found all of these things to be true.

Carole has a deep love of York and an engaging way of sharing her knowledge of the city. This is one of the friendliest places I've ever stayed, every staff member we spoke with made us feel like we were at home and welcome.

Extremely comfortable rooms, the bed linen is spotless and snug. Our ensuite was small but perfect, lovely hot shower and very thoughtful, eco-friendly toiletries. Beyond the standard shower gel was hand cream, face cleanser, cotton wipes and buds, those things one may forget when packing and be grateful to find on hand at the other end.

The house is a short walk into town so we had the benefit of being close to everything yet weren't inconvenienced by the sometimes noisy night life that a more central hotel would have had as a free extra.

All in all, we loved the place, we loved Carole and her staff, the location was ideal, the price was excellent. The only thing I will ask for on my next visit is a half size breakfast as the breakfasts are absolutely delicious and huge. You must try the whisky porridge. I am a convert!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    43
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
65
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My 17 year old son stayed here the night before a university open day. Carole could not have been kinder and more helpful, sorting out buses etc. He also had a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay if we go back to the university.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming. It has an excellent location being only about 8 mins from Clifford's Tower. And we had a huge and tasty breakfast which set us up for the morning. I would definitely recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great find for a few days getaway, within walking distance of the city. Home from home with friendly service, fresh flowers, warm well decorated rooms where you instantly relax.
Six breakfast menu choice was novel and well executed. Would we stay again. We would and recommend to friends and family too. Thanks Carol.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Always a warm & friendly welcome recieved off Carole, been coming here now for a few years & every time just seems to get better. Rooms tastefully decorated, always clean. Every dietary requirement is catered for from full English to salmon fillets to veggie brekkie. Can't speakly highly enough of Avondale guest house. A************

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been staying at Avondale every year except one, since 2003. Once again, we have a fantastic stay at Avondale. The usual warm welcome from Carole, Wendy and Ann, filling yummy breakfasts and clean, comfortable rooms. Thanks for leaving us a wine cooler and 2 wine glasses too! We will be coming again next year and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we have only good things to say about Carole and her lovely guest house. A short walk from shops, restaraunts and a bit further, the town centre. A choice of breakfasts and meal times is a bonus

Room Tip: Go for rear rooms as its on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.