We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Spice

Village Spice
162 Bishopthorpe Road, York, England
01904 655 559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is BYO restaurant and takeaway. We have eaten here several times and always had a lovely meal. The menu is varied with a selection of special dishes and the standard Bhuna, Rogan Josh etc. There is also a good selection of vegetarian dishes The food (eating in or take-away) is always of excellent quality, at very reasonable prices.
All the staff are friendly and attentive, but not in your face.
Having spent several years frequenting my local Indian restaurant, I an now a convert to the Vilage Spice, a couple of miles away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    22
    8
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“High hopes dashed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I saw that the majority of reviews for here were top.
After arriving quite late to the Marriott I picked here as it's quite close and I probably wouldn't have an issue with parking. On arrival I was shown to a table in the rear part - I was the only one seated on this area - the other people all occupied tables in the front. That's fine, I don't like to be conspicuous when eating alone.
They don't serve alcohol here, but I think you can take your own. I started with a coke + pops and the pickle tray.
The menu is quite descriptive. There are many dishes including old favourites. Having narrowed it down to three mains, I asked for advice. The waiter recommended one of my picks, described as 'made from 21 ingredients - you've never tasted anything like this I'm the U.K.' . Well this was accurate. The dish arrived and was almost tasteless - nothing! There was some heat, but really I was so surprised at the lack of tastes. Add in quite bland onion rice and a (not) hot and spicy naan and the disappointment was complete. I left just less of the curry than I ate. Poor!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Don't let the out of town location fool you... this is no ordinary "run of the mill" curry house. The food is superb. The korma is rich, creamy and well balanced, the chefs special was an exquisite mix of fresh herbs, spices and vegetables. The quality of the food really sets this apart from other curry houses, and attention to detail shows throughout the meals. Even the lettuce that comes with the freshly cooked bahji's is so finely sliced that you can tell the chef is a proud perfectionist. You won't find a better Indian restaurant in York.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service but ropey food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Ordered takeaway last night - only a few starters, which many restaurants won't agree to do, so really appreciate that they did it. Unfortunately the poppadoms were soft/stale, the onion bhajis were undercooked and doughy in the middle and the samosas were just on the verge of being burnt.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only had take-aways so far, so can't judge the restaurant but we haven't been disappointed. The food is delicious and flavoursome, you can really taste all the different ingredients and spices in the dishes..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Spice also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Village Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.