We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bankfield Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Bankfield Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
33 Towthorpe Road, York YO32 3LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I spent four wonderful days and nights in Bankfield - our second time in a B&B after many years using city centre hotels on our trips away. We got fed up with drunken parties falling around bedrooms at 2 am! What a difference - no more hotels for us. Our room was quiet, light and airy, our bed comfortable, our hosts the nicest people you could hope to meet and the breakfasts are to die for. Great location, great weekend, would not hesitate to go back on our trips to York.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a gem of a place - my daughter and I had the most relaxing few days prior to a family wedding in York. The house is decorated with great taste, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms very well equipped and everything is spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was also of a very high quality with local produce and even homemade jam using fruit from the B&B's garden - what more could you ask for?..
Every detail has been though of here....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bankfield B+B recently. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from Veronica into her beautiful, clean and comfortable home. We stayed in the family suite and found the room, beds and en-suite bathroom immaculately presented. The kids loved her homemade flapjacks and jam. My son thought her breakfasts were scrumptious and we couldn't agree more. Thank you Veronica for making us feel so comfortable and at home. I was sad to have to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

visiting family in York recently we needed a hotel for a night.Based on our postcode search we found the Bankfield and I am so glad we did.
The Bankfield was better than a hotel,beautiful,comforatable room and a great breakfast,terrific value for money and a wonderful host.
I will certainly stay here again and happily recommend it to anyone visiting York.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaltenkirchen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a lovely weekend at this excellent B & B. Well located away from the hustle of York but still within easy commuting distance of the city. Veronica made us feel like we were old friends with her welcome. Breakfast was perfect with good home cooking and room was very clean and comfortable. Would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to visit the fine city of York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oss
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

For three more or less grey and rainy days we stayed in Haxby, but in Bankfield B&B it was absolutely sunny! English breakfast at its very best, prepared by Veronica who loves to make you feel very welcome and has interesting stories. Taste the great home-made jams, enjoy the excellent beds in a lovely room and feel sorry when you have to travel on. When there in June, burry your nose in the roses at the entrance for an old-fashioned, almost forgotten smell.
Thank you Veronica, we loved it! (and thank you for the book I could keep to finish it later, how kind ...)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenterden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for four nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. Veronica is a lovely warm hostess and the whole place is beautifully kept, with immaculate, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and up-market bathroom. Good gluten-free bread on offer, homemade jams and flapjacks. We couldn't have asked for more and have no complaints whatsoever. Would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bankfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Towthorpe Road, York YO32 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality accommodation near York, away from the hustle and bustle. Haxby is just 3 miles from York and offers excellent local amenities: Pubs and Restaurants. Less than 10 minutes to York’s excellent Park & Ride service. 2 miles from the A64 leading you to our Fabulous Coast, Castle Howard, Flamingo Land, The North Yorkshire Moors and many more. 5 minutes from two large shopping centres, Monks Cross & Clifton Moor. Free Parking is available to all guests staying at Bankfield ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bankfield Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.