We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find! Beautiful cheese ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Love Cheese

Love Cheese
16 Gillygate, York, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: We are a cheese shop, and we have a cafe directly behind the shop! It leads onto a peaceful back garden, running up to York's city walls.We have a unique menu themed around what we know and love best - Cheese! We serve cheeseboards, mixed deli platters, hot and cold sandwiches and salads. You can also treat yourself to our homemade cakes and cheesecake.Our coffee is based on espresso made with our own blend of coffee beans from York Coffee Emporium. We have a range of lager, cider, ale, wine and spirits to choose from. Or something softer - like sparkling elderflower, lemonade or fruit juice if you prefer.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing find! Beautiful cheese ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had lunch here with the hugest cheese portions ever! They let us pick our own cheese or they recommended some and it was gorgeous! Can't explain how lovely a place this is! Please go, you won't be disappointed! So many cheeses....if you love cheese....it's for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yemassee, South Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I came here with a friend one Saturday as she really fancied some Brie and she isn't from York, and whilst shopping in Gillygate we came upon this place. It was absolutely superb, we devoured a platter between us along with some fantastic coffee. Highly recommended. Just stunning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Cheese lovers will love Love Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

If you love cheese then you're sure to love Love Cheese. First and foremost this is a cheese shop and deli. And a very good one at that. The addition of the cafe at the back gives you a chance to sample their offerings on site. £15 for a cheese board for two is pretty good value as you get five biggish pieces of cheese together with bread, crackers, pickle, fruit and a bit of salad all attractively served on a piece of slate. There are a range of cheese boards to pick from; we had the French one which was excellent. There are also ploughman's and sandwiches on the menu, all suitably cheese-centric as you'd expect. They're fully licensed too so you can wash it all down with a glass or two of wine. The cafe itself is nice enough but the outside area could perhaps be spruced a bit. The staff are friendly but some seem more knowledgable than others. If they can't explain each cheese, ask for someone who can!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great little cafe, for a out stop for all cheese lovers. I have eaten here twice at lunchtime and enjoyed both occasions very much. The food is simple but exciting and the service helpful and cheerful, my only grumble is that in the winter months its is cold as the heating isn't very effective!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great English experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A perfect spot for a very English Stilton cheese sandwich and cider (both of high quality). It helped that the weather was nice and sunny, so the patio in the back was perfect for a lunch break. Good service, reasonable prices (specially considering York prices).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love Cheese also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Love Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Love Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.