We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Steer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steer Inn
Save
You added The Steer Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hull Road | nr Wilberfoss, York YO41 5PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 216 York B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Oh dear not been here in 15 years & it's now diabolical! Such a shame it is. We brought my dad for his 50th I had rang 3 days before to book a table but once there they did not have our reservation luckily they were as dead as a morgue with no one else in there... It's was awful really. We were wanting to head out to the windmill it was that bad but the birthday boy choose to stay as we had been there 30 mins +. The place was freeZing cold there was no toilet roll in the ladies toilets & no soap the staff were dressed in rags & the food well it was terrible for the high price... To say it's a steak house there was nothing there.. Utter discust such a shame it used to be such a popular place years ago... Think in future we will be sticking to the windmill for the lovely family company & the lovely food the steer inn should be closed down!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    6
    5
    26
See reviews for
18
28
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Definitely the worst experience we have ever had. On arrival the place was cold and uninviting. The log burning stove in the lounge was full of ash and the whole place appeared not to have been opened for several days. The buffet was nothing short of appalling with the cheapest of produce on offer. Having stayed at the Steer many times before it was sad to see how it had sunk to such a low standard. After complaining in writing we have not had the courtesy of a reply. It appears they wish to take your money without providing any hospitality and gives a very poor reflection on Yorkshire. Steer clear.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Having ate many a meal here and always being impressed with the perfectly cooked steak it seemed the logical place to hold my 40th Birthday Party and I wasn't disappointed.
Right from the start Darren and Mandy did all they could to help and this contributed to a very relaxed, awesome family party.
The food was amazing and I have had phone calls all day from my guests saying it was the best party food they have ever had - and I have a number of fussy eaters!! The stew and dumplings were outstanding and the curry was divine. The cold buffet was plentiful and all up to a high standard and I honestly don't believe there are any puddings left that weren't on offer!
A number of guests stayed and were more than happy with their rooms and I don't think you could ask for more.
If you've read the negative reviews, put them to the back of your head and go and try out the place yourself - you won't regret it!
Thank you for a wonderful, memorable time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hOME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Our overnight stay, and buffet on New Years Eve can only be described as total rubbish, the food very cheap and poor standard, Our room had the curtains hanging off the tracks,plaster of walls very badly stained carpet and the bed linen did not appear to be clean. We have been going to the Steer for over twenty year under previous owners, but never again

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just had a one night stopover with friends as we were visiting York Christmas market. Contrary to recent reviews we felt the customer service was very poor & unprofessional. The staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming to us. Our room was very disappointing, although clean, it was shabby & in need of a makeover. Ours was a family room & we had booked a twin & a double but when we queried this & asked if we could change we were told no as they were full & it was because we had booked online!?? My e mail confirmation from The Steer Inn (not a separate website) clearly states one twin & 1 double room. However we accepted this & didn't make a fuss. There were tea & coffee making facilities in the room but we had to ask for cups & milk. The shower was useless, either red hot or cold, impossible to regulate. It was quite noisy, walls were thin & our double bed was in desperate need of a new mattress, the springs creaked with every movement, not adequate to ensure a good nights sleep at all. Breakfast was quite good, not the best full English ever but it was adequate. Checking out was certainly easy, there was not a soul about & we left the keys on the bar. Would we stay again?....no.Would we recommend?....no.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We came here for a sunday dinner for the first time. We loved the food. Everything was cooked perfect. The chocolate brownie was to die for, infact i would say it was the best brownie i have eaten. The service was good too. There wasnt many people in , not sure why as we loved it. Maybe could put some music on when not many people are in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just stopped over at the Steer hotel for one night with my farther and sister after reading earlier reviews I wasn't sure what to expect......let me put your mind at rest, service great friendly staff, food was good, room was good nice and tidy and very clean had a great nights sleep. To find a place with nice staff, restaurant, relaxing bar with tidy/clean rooms at a normal cost you can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steer Inn

Address: Hull Road | nr Wilberfoss, York YO41 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — The Steer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Steer Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.