We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal York Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in York
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My b/f booked a superdeluxe double room for my birthday and really enjoyed the stay! The location is perfect, a 30 second walk from the station and 5 min walk to the centre. The room was very spacious with a very big bathroom, all very clean and neat. Breakfast is a walking buffet with coffee/tea served at your table. A very nice variety of warm (English) breakfast, cereal, pastries, yoghurt and fruit. On the first morning we didn't have to wait to be served, the second morning (Sunday) was more hectic with people queuing to get in and food that was not available, but the staff was doing their best to re-fill and get tables cleaned. The only minor point was the dinner we had on Saturday evening in the hotel, it wasn't the best Caesar salad I've had, but I wouldn't want to take away any credit, it is a nice play to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Royal York Hotel following your recent stay.

It is great that our location was ideal for your arrival by train and an excellent base to explore the city centre and all the attractions.

Thank you for your great comments regarding breakfast and the wonderful service you received throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    653
    518
    308
    185
See reviews for
261
938
47
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here recently for 2 nights as a couple. Its in a good location, 5 mins walk to the centre of york and 2 mins from the train station.
The room itself was spacious and to a good standard, the bathroom however did not seem in keeping with the room. It was bland and tired however it was clean.
We used the pool and sauna which was free to guests, not huge but nice all the same.
When we booked in we were asked if we wanted to start a tab or pay as we went. We wanted to pay as we went, however after a meal and a few drinks out in York we decided to have a nightcap in the hotel bar but were told we could not as we hadnt given a card when checking in and they did not take cash later in the evening. This should be mentioned to guests when checking in.
Cannot rate the food as we did not eat here.
Although we did have a nice stay I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Royal York Hotel.

It is great to read that your room and our location were to your liking and that you found time to enjoy our leisure facilities. Following guest feedback we are currently reviewing our pre-authorisation credit system and this will be clarified for future guests and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Another reman ant of our railway past
Fantastic location adjacent to the railway station this ex British Transport Hotel is a magnificent edifice to that bygone expected time of arrival but holds it's own in splendour and presentation
The bar area is cool and the staff were very attentive reasonable prices Have been many times it is city centre there is some noise from the railway and roads but it's part of the buzz I suppose

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I went with my sister and we stayed in a twin room with no view at all. The room was rather dated but comfortable and served it's purpose as a base for York. The room was very hot so we just turned off the radiator and then it was a good temperature.It is next to the station but we did not suffer any noise from the station. I have walking difficulties so it was a little far for me to walk right into the centre so we had to take taxis into the centre and back.

We did have a car and the hotel kindly reserved us a disables parking space at the hotel for our use. There is nowhere to park in the town centre hence the use of taxis!!

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive to my needs. We ate in the hotel one evening and the food was delicious so no complaints there at all.

It's good location but not so if you have walking difficulties.

We felt that the cost of the hotel was expensive for the quality of the room and the fact it did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your stay last November.

It is great that the hotel provided an excellent base for your visit to York and that all our staff were attentive and assisted you with a disabled car parking space.

Thank you for your great comments regarding the delicious food you enjoyed in the Tempus Restaurant which I will share with our Head Chef and his team.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCARBOROUGH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Double standards by the Hotel Chain.
The Illusion of Granduar vanishes once you leave the reception area.
The Bedrooms are reasonable,although guests should be asked do they like very soft beds and if not the matresses should be changed or guests given another room.
Bedrooms but could do with updating, our bathrooms although spacious are reminiscent of guest houses, ( No Heating) temperature 14Degees The Duty manager came to our room and soon realised that there was nothing he could do. His words were I will have see maintenance.
The bathroom had an old fashioned electric towel rail, giving out what I would say is lost heat, as as soon as towels are place on it there is no ambient temperature at all. At most it would have 400 watts totally insufficeint to heat a bathroom of 19 cubic meters as this would need approx 4500 BTHU as it is North Facing Room.
4 Star should be through out the hotel, not just as a Facade.
Other complaint is that Resturaunt could not be maintained at a set temperature, diners were leaving and coming back with their jumpers on not very good for Yorks supposedly leading hotel.
The hotel has no Ceiling soundproofing and also plenty of creaking floor board, a situation that should addressed sooner rather than later for the benefit of guests, but are PH interested in guests or just in their money.
Reference hotel heating, I have stayed inn Hotels on the Baltic,( Warnemunde),Poland ( Stettin) Austria (Fuschle)and East Germany ( Rostock) in the winter when temperatures can drop to- 20+ Degrees C yet the hotels were held at a constant temperature. A suggestion for PH management team to visit these hotels and see how they keep their guest happy and warm, without giving electric heaters to guests. Although it is a common occurrance at The York Royal Hotel WHY ???
No disrespect to the Hotel manager, but looking through previous reviews he only gives a " Politicians Answer" never promises to do anything about the problem, but I suppose as a spokeman for PH his hands are tied
If he is going to reply could it be in the positive

Room Tip: See the hotel before you agree to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel.

It is lovely to read that you appreciated the building’s charm and grandeur and I can confirm that the hotel was subject to an AA visit in October 2013 where we were accredited with a 4* rating.

I am very sorry that the mattress in your room was not to your liking. As I am sure you can appreciate all mattresses are subjective and it is not always possible to accommodate each individual requirement. Had our staff been aware of any dissatisfaction they would have happily provided an alternative mattress or room if necessary.

The hotel was acquired last year and there is a very long term strategic plan to refurbish the entire building including the bedrooms which will include all the pipe work and electrics, which is not something that can be undertaken overnight.

I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations however I would like to thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. We had a standard double room (no view) which was very large with a large bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room had all the usual bits and bobs you would expect. The hotel itself was very grand and directly next to the railway station so good location. Breakfast was very tasty and staff were efficient. The hotel bar was a bit pricey but that's to be expected, cocktails were lovely.
I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay at The Royal York Hotel.

It is great that you appreciated the grandeur and charm of the hotel and that your spacious room and comfortable bed were to your liking.

Thank you for your comments regarding the excellent breakfast you enjoyed and the lovely cocktails served in our Tempus Bar which I will share with our teams.

I am delighted to read that you would not hesitate in booking The Royal York Hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend away and had high hopes having seen other reviews here and browsed the hotel website.

Unfortunately in all aspects other than the location (and the fact York is lovely!) the hotel was a huge let down for the following reasons

1. Having booked a room with a double bed we were initially given a tiny room with a small double shoved up against a wall so that it could only be accessed from one side, not the end of the world but certainly not acceptable in a hotel proclaiming to be so grand.

2. The 2nd room we were shown was tiny and located a long way from the hotel facilities - it was very dated and in dire need of TLC. The hotel has built a large convention facility and this room was clearly designed for delegates rather than those seeking a romantic weekend away.

3. The third and final room was little better and very dark/tired. The bathroom was pretty grim.

4. We only ate very room service but are thankful for this as it was pretty grim offerings

5. There is no wifi in the room although after 'making a fuss' this was eventually rectified by the hotel as a small peace offering

All in all it is a real shame that this hotel lets itself down so badly but for business I would assume it is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel last October.

Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this particular occasion and due to the high occupancy within the hotel we were unable to offer you a room to meet your requirements. As I am sure you can appreciate due to the age and layout of the listed Victorian building all our rooms do vary in size and shape.

On a positive note I am delighted that our excellent location provided you with a great base from which to explore the beautiful city on foot.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal York Hotel

Address: Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Royal York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York Hotel Grand Victorian
Royal York Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.