We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal York Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 45 hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My room in the garden wing had all the luxury and style of a run down hospital.

Drab, tired and shabby. The bathroom window was so draughty the nearby cobwebs blew in the wind. The curtains were awful with the lining hanging down.

All finished off by a Christmas party and lots of teenagers shouting outside my window.

If I wasn't travelling with colleagues I would have left as soon as I arrived and gone to the Premier Inn which is much nicer, cleaner and better value.

This place looks nice in the public areas but some of the bedrooms are awful. Shame because my colleagues in other parts of the hotel said their rooms were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay attending a conference in the hotel.

Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations and your room in the garden wing was not to your liking. I will ask our Housekeeping Manager to investigate the curtains in your room.

On a positive note it is great to read that you enjoyed our refurbished public areas and that your colleagues were happy with their rooms during their stay.

Thank you for your comments which will assist us with our refurbishment.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    507
    413
    264
    159
See reviews for
202
735
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Visited here for 2 nights parking is busy and £6 on a weekend £8 on a week day per night . We had a twin room that overlooked the garden it was ok carpets are very worn and tired , bathroom extremely dated with very loud shower.. Towels changed and room left clean daily !

This is no longer a 4 star hotel I feel yes it's grand and impressive at reception but that's where it stops.

Breakfast was of the usual hot and cold and they fetch your tea and toast which was nice..
Prob would not stay again and give somewhere else in York a chance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am pleased to read that you found your room clean and appreciated the onsite car parking facility and our great breakfast service.

We are planning refurbishment of our rooms in 2014 and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived on the Sunday evening after a previous coach tour. We were greeted by wonderful staff and checked in with excitement. Luggage arrived promptly at our lovely clean and spacious room with a lovely view of the gardens and a wow view of york. Great nights sleep and ready for the day. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast in beautiful surroundings and the staff are so polite and helpful. The pool was lovely and facilities are of a very good standard. We had 2 wonderful nights and would recommend this hotel. Thank you .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review of The Royal York Hotel following your recent stay.

I am delighted that your stay lived up to your high expectations and that you loved your garden view room with views of York Minster. It is great that you found time to enjoy our leisure facilities and that you will be highly recommending the hotel to others.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel in an excellent position for visiting York. It is an imposing building right next to the train station so very convenient for travellers. It is a very easy walk into the city with all it's attractions. We were given a room in a modern annexe which was very quiet and the room was large. The bathroom needs some expert cleaning with the tile grout round the bath needing bleaching and the bottom of the shower screen had a build up of mildew. Otherwise the room was spotless. The staff in the dining room at breakfast were very efficient and charming. There was a good selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room I would recommend the events annexe. The rooms are large and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review of The Royal York Hotel.

I agree, we do have an enviable position opposite the city centre walls and adjacent to York Station.

It is great to read that the size and location of your room in our garden wing was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed a super breakfast with excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went to York for a 2 night stay on 29th/30th December 2013 with friends.
Good points.
Lovely Victorian hotel in a convenient spot for the train station and about a 10 minute walk into the city. Breakfast ok, Service good. Bar and lobby area ok. Plenty of hot water.
Bad points.
Drinks at the bar are a pricey. Rooms could really do with a revamp. Beds in rooms 220, 225 and 229 hard and lumpy so presume all are the same. Bathrooms tired. Really really noisy outside the hotel with the trains, buses, bin lorries and general traffic.
All in all I am sure there are nicer places to stay in York.

Room Tip: Garden side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the hotel.

It is great to that you appreciated our Victorian building and the fantastic location for the Station and the city centre.

Following a recent mattress survey in the hotel all our mattresses are to the hotel standards, however as I am sure you are aware this is a very subjective matter due to each individuals requirements.

Unfortunately when you occupy such a central position within a city centre you are subject to some local noise, and this is generally not an issue for our guests choosing the hotel for it's excellent central location.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from Saturday to Monday morning, just a very short walk from the station. A beautifully decorated reception area with all the christmas decorations. Staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly. The room was of a decent size with all amenities required, clean and tidy. Bed was of a good standard and comfortable, pillows were uncomfortable. Bathroom was reasonably decent, very small chips in the sink, my only big bugbear was a very nasty cheap plastic toilet seat! We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings and have to say the food was excellent, full marks to the chefs. Waiting staff could have been a little more attentive and actually remember that you have ordered wine and serve it before we had almost finished our dinner. The bar is decorated very nicely, shame about the staff (or lack of!) for a saturday evening it wasn't particularly busy but the staff couldn't cope and ignored you until you called them over. There were only two staff on who also had to wait on tables in the reception area with coffee. Breakfast on the whole was very good, plenty of choice, shame the fried eggs were more on the hard side, but scrambled eggs were very good. Apart from just these little niggles it was a very nice stay and very close to the centre of York which could be easily walked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just returned from a weekend Christmas shopping and visiting the Christmas markets, so York was extremely busy. We had asked for a twin room at the front of the hotel as we were a little concerned about TA comments about the garden annexe, and we got exactly as requested.. Room 315 overlooks the 'walls' and was quiet with a blackout blind as well as curtains so we both had a good night's sleep. The bathroom is enormous and the heated towel rail and good sized towels were much appreciated. Our room was not quite ready when we arrived so we chose to have a drink in the bar while we waited (only 10 minutes) Two glasses of Pinot Grigio at £17 seemed a bit excessive so we didn't use the bar again. However, this is the only negative comment I could make as we found the service in all areas exceptional. The staff were attentive, professional, extremely helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast offered excellent choices and was frequently and freshly replenished. I suspect some of the diners were the type of people who leave bad reviews as we noticed several instances of rude behaviour (clicking fingers at staff, and no 'please' or 'thank you') and feel sorry for the staff who have to contend with this. We regularly stay at hotels in UK and Europe so are fairly experienced travellers and could not fault this hotel in any way (apart from the bar prices!) and will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
An additional bonus is a door from the back of the hotel almost on to the station platform- a great central location.

Room Tip: twin room 315, quiet, big bathroom, view of walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay at The Royal York Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed a lovely weekend staying with us and that your room overlooking the city walls was to your liking and that you appreciated the extra large towels provided in your bathroom.

I will share your fantastic comments regarding our exceptional staff amongst the teams and it is lovely that their attention and service enhanced your weekend.

I appreciate your feedback regarding our excellent breakfast choices and that you could not fault the hotel which is why you will definitely be returning to stay at The Royal York Hotel again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal York Hotel

Address: Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal York Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Royal York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York Hotel Grand Victorian
Royal York Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.