We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for York” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal York Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in York
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good base for York”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My girlfriend booked this hotel for a romantic weekend away for us. The hotel was very central and the easy parking made it very easy to negotiate on arrival. The entrance was very grand and 1st impressions were good, as was the room. We didn't try any food whilst there but we did visit the bar which was nice. Overall it was a perfect base for us as we just wanted to use it to sleep in whilst we visited the sights and went for a night out. I would say however that there would probably be better value to be found elsewhere, it was very expensive for what it was. For the money we paid, there was no iron or board, tea making facilities were poor and the room was pretty standard, if a little dated. We were at the front of the hotel though which had lovely views and was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Royal York Hotel.

I am particularly happy to read your comments that you found our onsite car parking easy to negotiate and our central location provided you with the perfect base for exploring York and enjoying the nightlife.

As all of our rooms provide ironing facilities I am unsure as to why you were unable to locate an iron, and I will ask the Housekeeping Manager to investigate this. I have noted your comments relating to the standards of tea and coffee making facilities and can advise that we are currently reviewing these.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    590
    476
    287
    174
See reviews for
242
836
44
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Here we are off again on our infrequent travels this time to the historical City of York. Booked The Royal York Hotel, York via Late Rooms.co being very quick and easy to use. Hotel situated right by the Railway Station and centrally placed for an easy walk into the heart of old York. Stands in its own grounds with ornamental gardens and houses the Yorkshire Wheel giving views across Yorkshire (closes in Sept 2013 so hurry). Hotel rooms, we found to be spacious with large bath/shower room. Our room was very clean with sufficient tea/coffee facilities and also WiFi connection. It faced the gardens with great view of Wheel and York Minster. Whilst we didn't use the evening restaurant, the English breakfast was more than adequate (also continental available.) Very Grand Hotel and an excellent base for York.

Room Tip: Rooms with 200 code appear to face the gardens with views across York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked 2 nights at this hotel through booking.com. On arrival the carpark was small but we were lucky enough to spot someone leaving, otherwise we had been advised that we could park at the nearby railway station. Parking is £6-£8 extra per day.

On entering the hotel the reception area, bar and restaraunt were all very grand and impressive. Check in was straightforward but I was slightly confused when the receptionist asked if we were "ok with the stairs", we were then advised that we would be staying in the garden wing. You get the lift to Floor 3, trek the entire length of the hotel & then have to walk up 2 flights of stairs. When we reached our room it was very basic & a little grubby but had fantastic views of York Minster & the big wheel was situated in the grounds. The bed was the smallest double I have ever seen which caved in the middle, the tv did not work and there were stains on the curtains. All of the above could possibly have been forgiven, however I feel that at over £100 per night room only in a supposed 4* hotel this was unacceptable.

We used the pool the next morning where we showered also. This pool area, gym & changing rooms were pretty dated however do appreciate that this is a victorian building and not all areas can be super modern/up to date. After a fantastic day in York we returned to the hotel where we had no hot water from the shower and only a dribble of water coming out. I felt at this stage after a build up of problems that I had to complain. This is supposedly a 4* hotel. In fairness the reception manager was more than helpful which was very decent of him. He explained that as it is a Victorian building it is difficult to maintain such high standards and the renovation process would take a long time. He also advised that sometimes the power levels are lessened in the garden wing at certain times. We however felt the experience had put a dampner on our trip so decided to cut it short and head home.

We visit York every year at least twice and this has been our first wrong choice. We will definitely not be returning. Most recently we stayed at the Hampton by Hilton which was excellent, there are no leisure facilities but we could not fault it. We have also stayed at Hotel 53, Novotel and The Churchill. All excellent.

On a positive note however the location of the hotel is excellent with amazing views if you are lucky enough to get a room at the front, the staff were pleasant and I believe there are a few of the rooms which have recently been renovated... if I were paying over £100 per night for room only I would definitely be requesting one of these newly done rooms.

Apologies for the long review, I am just really disappointed as we had always admired this hotel & were thoroughly disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you were impressed with our grand public areas and I agree that we are in an excellent location with fabulous views of York Minster and the York Wheel.

I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the location and facilities of your room in the Garden Wing and your comments will be noted for our ongoing investment programme.

I offer my apologies that you experienced some maintenance and housekeeping issues with your room and if any problems had been reported to Reception our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams would have addressed any issues immediately to ensure the room was to your satisfaction.

I apologise for your dissatisfaction and I am sorry to read that you will not be returning to the hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel via Hotwire, and where not disappointed. This hotel is in an excellent location right on the Rail station. We stayed in th garden wing, the rooms are a little dated but very clean and a lovely comfy bed. Dora on reception was lovely, he went out of her way to get us 2 rooms together, even ordering us coffee while we waited. I would recommend express check out as it was very busy at reception. We left our luggage with the conseirge who was so pleasant, nothing was a bother. We didnt book for breakfast, however it is only £10 per person, so grea value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Royal York Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found your garden wing room to your satisfaction and were welcomed warmly by our Front of House team, and I will forward your compliments to them as we recognise all outstanding service at our Quality Wins Presentations for staff which are held monthly.

I agree that at £10 our breakfast is great value and also delicious with plenty of choice and it is regrettable that you didn't have the chance to experience it during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Situated right beside York railway station and with the York wheel in their gardens it is in a very convenient location for exploring York's attractions by foot. A large hotel with good amenities and comfortable rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing seeming any problem.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. My only criticism would be the high bar prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at The Royal York Hotel.

I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and agree with you regarding our excellent location for York Station and the City Centre.

I am particularly pleased to read that you received outstanding customer service from our staff and nothing was too much trouble for them.

As you enjoyed an excellent breakfast during your stay, next time be sure to enjoy an evening meal in our Tempus Restaurant.

I have noted your comment regarding the bar prices as we are currently reviewing our bar promotions for the summer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal York Hotel in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My works leaving do in York last Friday. booked a suite with breakfast for my wife and I. The room was large with a fantastic view of the minster. The York wheel is in the garden (I've been on it before) and worth a go for the view. Room was clean and breakfast good. No issues but as with may hotels we stay in no free WiFi. It's something travellers really need these days and should be available! Right next to York station.

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have a view out towards the minster. I booked a suite this time (good rate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over night following a function. I paid £108 for a twin room for one night. I was disappointed to find that breakfast was not included in the price. When i arrived at the hotel i found that the car park was difficult to park in. I managed to squeeze my car into the last remaining place in the car park. I had to request a ticket at the barrier when I arrived. I understand in a very touristy city such as York parking has to be monitored so I presumed that when I checked out i wouldn't be charged for parking as a paying hotel guest. To my disgust the next morning i was asked for £6 to exit the car park. I just feel that a 4* hotel shouldn't be fleecing its guests for even more money when they seem to be offering then the bare minimum with a room which isn't exactly cheap. The room itself was small and backed on to a pavement with people walking past opposite a royal mail depot.i was a little disappointed. It was clean and the beds however were comfortable.
We ate dinner provided as part of the function and the food was very nice to say they were catering for more than 100 guests.
its location for people visiting york is very well placed. Right next to the train station within walking distance of the city centre and the race course but i feel that people could get much more for their money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyFurlong, General Manager at The Royal York Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry to read that you experienced difficulty finding a parking space and were unaware of the car parking charges until your departure, for this please accept my apologies, our charges are detailed on our website and we feel that £6 for 24hours is a comparable price for parking so close to the city centre.

I apologise that you were dissatisfied with the size of your twin room, however I am delighted to read that you found the cleanliness excellent and the beds to be extremely comfortable.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed delightful food at the event you were attending, and I agree our location is unbeatable next to the Station and the proximity to the city centre.

Thank you again for your comments and I will ensure your feedback is passed to the relevant teams.

Yours faithfully

Tony Furlong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal York Hotel

Address: Station Road | Station Parade, York YO24 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York Hotel Grand Victorian
Royal York Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.