We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SECRET” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambience

Ambience
40 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
01904 652 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ambience has the most beautiful city walled garden with minster views! Inside is small and intimate with a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Out side we have a covered area with has heaters for the colder days and evenings also we have a graveled area and a garden area to relax in!You must come and have a look you will be very impressed
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SECRET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to Guy's June theme night = ‘Wine & Dine’ night. Six courses each with a matching wine for £37. His French borne, but living in Harrogate, sommelier was brilliant. In no way was this a lecture night, nor did you spit out the wine. The food was cooked to perfection. Not being a wine buff I had Googled the wines beforehand and was somewhat surprised that they were all readily available at between £6 and £10.

Guy cooks from an exposed kitchen and fully partakes in the event. Talking to the other diners – mostly regular locals I gather that is Bistro nights attract large numbers of locals.

We enjoyed the night so much we immediately booked onto his next theme night = Japanese. We also ordered six bottles of Vincent Edouard Poirrier Blanc de Blanc, Sparkling Saumur Made from Chardonnay and Arbois grapes from the Loire Valley. This is a delicate sparkling wine with a persistent and fine mousse that is a perfect aperitif. It has a refreshing apple aroma and a crisp finish. £10
Thanks Guy for a great night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    62
    7
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Simply Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The breakfast here is nearly as good as the homemade scones! Friendly service with an incredible garden out the back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The title pretty much says it all... Having trawled around just about every café/bistro in York - this one puts most of the others to shame for breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and excellent scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The cappuccino made with Illy coffee is very good, but the cups are a bit small. The scones are excellent - especially the cheese ones. And around 10.30a.m. they've just been freshly baked. On a warm sunny day it's very nice to sit out in the yard/garden that stretches as far as the city walls. Inside the cafe it can be a bit cramped and a bit steamy on a rainy day. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ambience deserves to be more well known. It is a little bit off the main drag for York but serves great, modern food in a lovely setting. We went in the evening but understand that the outside garden is well utilized at lunch time. Our crab starter was very fresh and generous with a lovely mixed salad with plenty of fresh rocket. My partner had plaice with samphire and I had duck which was perfectly cooked. The wine is good and reasonable. The service was smiley and efficient and we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambience also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.