We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambience

Ambience
40 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
01904 652 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 671 restaurants in York
Cuisines: International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ambience has the most beautiful city walled garden with minster views! Inside is small and intimate with a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Out side we have a covered area with has heaters for the colder days and evenings also we have a graveled area and a garden area to relax in!You must come and have a look you will be very impressed
Waterloo, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had the three course early dinner special at Ambience this evening, on the recommendation of TripAdvisor. It was excellent and well worth the $21 GDP. Started with the chicken liver pate, then the cod & seaweed, ending with the summer pudding. I have been eating out for the last two weeks in Great Britain (on vacation) and this was the best meal for food (quality and quantity) and service thus far. Small place, seats 20. The chef came out to say hello. I wish i had this kind of place in my neighbourhood at home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    182
    59
    6
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A calm oasis in the frenzied tourist city of York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

York has many eating places, most of them overpriced and often too crowded to appreciate. But if you are willing to venture a little way outside the city walls you will find this little gem of a place where the service is quick and friendly, the menu unpretentious and the food delicious. And Gillygate itself is a charming street full of unusual and interesting shops – it's well worth the few yards diversion off the beaten tourist trail!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small, but perfectly formed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

While walking along Gillygate towards York’s centre to find somewhere to eat on the evening of April 25 we came upon Ambience and, liking the look of the short but interesting menu, decided to eat there instead. The small neighbourhood bistro proved an inspired choice. As we wanted only a light meal we decided against starters, our only mistake of the evening.
The menu concentrates on four starters, four mains and four desserts, an extremely sensible arrangement as chef/proprietor Guy Whapples manages the kitchen without help. Mind you he doesn’t need any because it’s obvious from my first taste of venison with cherry and chocolate sauce with dauphinoise potatoes that he is a very, very good cook. My wife had Stone Bass with olive mashed potatoes, which she enjoyed just as much as I did my venison.
For dessert I had the Yorkshire cheeseboard with four local cheeses plus more grapes and celery than I could manage while my wife had sticky toffee pudding with caramel sauce. Well, what else do you have when you are visiting the North? The meal finished with an unexpected treat of berry sorbet. This was fine dining on a small scale.
The wine list was as concentrated as the menu but of unusually good value. We had a bottle of Sicilian Chardonnay which Ambience also sells by the glass, so we had an extra glass each as well.
Mr Whapples told us he had decided to open in the evenings only about three months before and his decision deserves to be a huge success.
Discovering a local restaurant of such high quality is always a joy. It’s only a pity that we don’t live in York, but when we return we will be looking for Ambience again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we called in here on Tuesday for lunch well impressed the food is local produce meals made fresh to order.very friendly staff,will defo be calling again next time we visit York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stop for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for a drink here while passing on a weekend visit to York. I had a rose lemonade and husband had a sparkling water (not very exciting are we), our not quite 2 year old had ice cream. We can't review the food but the service was great. One scoop of ice cream wasn't on the menu but it was no problem and the price was reduced to reflect this. Clean and friendly.
My only complaint would be that the baby changing table is small but I can't blame the cafe for my daughter being tall.
Would definitely visit again and maybe have some food.
The garden was lovely, wish we had sat outside!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambience also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.