We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little café, reasonably priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambience

Ambience
40 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
01904 652 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ambience has the most beautiful city walled garden with minster views! Inside is small and intimate with a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Out side we have a covered area with has heaters for the colder days and evenings also we have a graveled area and a garden area to relax in!You must come and have a look you will be very impressed
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy little café, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely garden at the back which we would have enjoyed had the weather been better. Nice place to go for a relaxing coffee or lunch. I would recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    62
    7
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We went here for breakfast, it was gorgeous, very good quality food used. We were full but the cakes looked so tempting we stayed on and had a scone which was equally as yummy. The staff were really friendly, food was fantastic and it's a lovely setting. We will be back and have already recommended to our family and friends too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the Tin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Ambience Cafe Bar is a reflection of the lovely owner/chef. A friendly, relaxed environment with good food - whether its breakfast, lunch or just coffee and cake. It also has a great walled garden. Top skills, keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEAMINGTON SPA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A SUPERB ALBEIT SECOND CHOICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had intended to eat at Love Cheese on Gillygate but even though they had empty tables with reserved signs, they would rather have tables sitting empty than have a sale...

So, we popped into Ambience- What a treat !

From the cheery welcome that we received, to fabulous food and service, topped off with a great chat with the Owner Guy, we couldn't have felt more valued.

We didn't really want to leave, so after our lunch, we lingered over lovely coffees and cakes.

The interior is very homely, it was a wet day, so we couldn't partake of the courtyard, but it looked lovely.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Perfect lunchtime stop in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We ended up in Ambience as a 2nd choice as Love Cheese which we came across first of all were full and we were very glad we made it to Ambience instead. Great little cafe and would imagine when the sun is shining the garden would be great to eat in. Also v friendly welcome on entering the cafe. We went for a variety of dishes between the four of us, a cheese platter, salmon, brie, grape panini and a sharing platter. All were very tasty and we followed this up with chocolate of lemon drizzle cake which were v good. Would go back if we were to visit York again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambience also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.