We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pig & Pastry

Pig & Pastry
35 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NA, England
+44 1904 675115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 735 Restaurants in York
Price range: $756 - $2,269
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Popped in for a late lunch one day and was pleasently surprised. The coffee was nice but not spectactular, the real gem was the food and service. Everyone was very friendly and I ended up wasting a couple of hours just chatting to the staff and other customers. A very enjoyable afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    7
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just didn't feel welcome!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had been told by a good friend this was the best place to take my other half for a breakfast treat! having stayed at Hotel du vin around the corner. I don't mind sharing a table - the pub-esque feeling is all when and good, but being made to feel like you are in the way when they joined your table! The food was not seasoned nor was there S&P on the table, with a poor level of service it just left me wishing we had not made the effort :-( real shame as many folks have expressed the same feelings since visiting saying how good it used to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely food but a bit chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We popped in for lunch around 1pm having been recommended to eat here by a friend. we were lucky and got a table straight away and ordered a goats cheese panini and a croque panini with a side salad. the service was very slow and when eventually delivered was just put on the table in front of us without the waitress saying what the food was or checking she was giving each dish to the right person. Cannot fault the food tasted delicious very tasty and fresh. But not enough tables layout seemed poor and soon was crammed with people waiting for tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

been going for several months, mostly on Saturday mornings for breakfast. Haven't been disappointed with the service or food. Alway a friendly atmosphere and sharing tables with other customer is a unique setup usually that you don't find in UK much but works well in Pig and Pastry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Chilled out breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived at about 10 with a couple of friends and ended up whiling away nearly the whole afternoon sat on the picnic benches outside this delightful cafe. All our breakfasts were delicious- I had the chorizo and scrambled egg which was divine. Reasonably price for the quality. I would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Pastry also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pig & Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig & Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.