We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harpers, best I've tried in York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Fish & Chips

Harpers Fish & Chips
15 Hull Road | City Centre, York YO10 3JL, England
01904 414 004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 716 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Harpers, best I've tried in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've not tried every chippy in York but can say with confidence having sampled plenty of fish and chips that Harpers is up there with the best the City has to offer.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't be going back in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Fish and chips ok but nothing out of the ordinary. Vinegar was tasteless and the salt was reluctant to leave the shaker. Girl assistant just stared when asked what the chip portion sizing meant . Back to Stamford Bridge chippy for us I think!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fab fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Best fish and chips in York, nothing fancy but if you want good fish and chips at a reasonable price this is the place to get them, suggest you take them home to eat, not a lot of seating area

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service was terrible.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Food was good but the service I received was shocking, there was two members of staff in just stood around talking, told me to wait 10 mins for food, and then didn't even have some of the food we ordered and only told us after waiting 10 mins and then missed things off the order, and just overall very rude, food was fine when we finally got it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best fish and chips yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After several visits to this unassuming fish and chip shop I have come to the conclusion that it is the best place in York to get your fish and chips. The service is excellent and staff cater quickly to customers every request. you can choose to eat in and the service is fast and efficient. There is a range of choices including battered prawns which are fresh and delicious. The portions are generous and the batter is light and crispy. The early bird deal including tea, And peas with your fish and chips for £4.50 is a very good deal to grab before 4 pm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpers Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Harpers Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.