We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good nights sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After a busy day spent walking around the city and walls of York we arrived a little hot and weary at this hotel.The reception was friendly and efficient.
On entering the room we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and appointment of the room.
A shower that actually worked well and a very comfortable bed and pillows made for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Have only stayed here once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ronald S
I was delighted to read your review and so pleased you found your room to be comfortable and you were able to have a great sleep. I hope you enjoyed the walk around the city walls, the walk does give you a good view of the city.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    291
    170
    39
    14
See reviews for
119
288
12
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Not in the centre of York, about 5 minutes drive. Only 6 pounds in a cab into town. Much easier to access by car than in the centre. Big free carpark. Big rooms with comfortable beds. No free Wifi, which was a surprise. The breakfast was 15 pounds, a bit expensive - we went to a cafe instead. Very helpful staff. Overall an excellent hotel. Would stay again if we visit York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Stuart D
I am so pleased you found the hotel to be comfortable and the location to be good allowing you to leave your car in our free car park for when you went in to the city. From the 1st July our internet became free for all IHG Reward members, this is our free loyalty scheme, once you have signed up which you can do upon arrival at the hotel you will then receive our free standard internet.
Many thanks for your review and I hope you enjoyed your stay in the UK.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am traveling with two teenage boys, we all have computers, so the size of the room and the number of electrical outlets matters. We had a double bed and sofa bed, and we could move them around to set up the inflatable mattress I brought with us so we each have a bed. Enough electrical outlets that we can charge everything. Our room is facing the rear parking so is nice and quiet, on the second floor. There is AC that works very well. The beds are comfortable, there is a 32 inch flat tv. The staff at reception were professional and friendly.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but I got a latte at the bar, it is Starbucks coffee so nice and strong. I was able to get a bucket of ice at the bar - they don't have an ice machine, that doesn't seem to be a standard thing in England.

The parking is quite large, we didn't have trouble finding a spot, and it is free.

The only negative thing I would say is the wifi, it is very slow. On the plus side, it is free (but only 2 connections/ room), you have to pay to get a faster connection.

Room Tip: Room facing the rear parking was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear busymothertoronto
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased you along with your sons found the hotel to be comfortable and met all of your needs. I do hope you all enjoyed your visit to the UK.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived on Saturday late morning,fully expecting to drop our bags and make our way to the Races.After our greeting from a very pleasant reception staff member we were unexpectedly told our room was ready.The room was tidy and had all we needed as we were only a one night stay and the majority of Saturday was going to be spent at the Races.The hotel is fantastically placed for the Racecourse and after a relaxing 15 minute walk across the course which actually was very exciting ,we arrived at the course entrance.After the Races we popped back to the hotel for a couple of drinks at the well-stocked bar.Service was good at the bar.Breakfast is available until 11am on a Sunday and it was well presented and the service staff were again very good.A note should be said that the shower in the Room wasn't very good but it eventually did the job !I would say that this is a well located hotel for a visit to York whether thats for the Races or the city itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Karl E
I was delighted to read your review and I felt very proud of the level of service your received from our team. I will be sharing your comments with them, these will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction. I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a convenient location for both the races and the city. I hope your day at the races was a successful one.
Many thanks
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here during grand depart weekend. Great location for racecourse. Plenty of parking for residents paricularly useful for us as York busy during tour de france. Basicslly as you eould expect from a holiday inn. Thirty minute walk to city centre but plenty of buses pass nearby. I know first buses 4,12 and 13 go into city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Graham N
I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with easy access to the racecourse and the city centre. I hope you enjoyed Le Grand Depart, this was truly a memorable occasion for the city.
Many thanks for reviewing your stay.
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of June and were very happy with our stay. Reception staff were vey helpful, looking up cinema information for us for a rainy evening! Breakfast was plentiful, rooms comfortable and clean, this in conjunction with the location made this a good choice for us. Buses into York are frequent and stops are close to the hotel. Great trip - thanks!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Eliazabeth
Many thanks for reviewing your stay, I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location with each access to the city and you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and our team to be helpful with local information.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I are Holiday Inn Priority Club card holders and can honestly say that the room we were allocated in this hotel was not Holiday Inn standard. It was very poor. The room smelt musty and was in need of some TLC. The bar area was fine and the food in the restaurant was good. The staff were nice and pleasant....however the overall impression of the hotel was that it was 'tired'...no I don't think we will be back

Room Tip: Not sure..my advice book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Keith21
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn York, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at the hotel and found our team to be friendly. I am extremely sorry for your feeling towards the hotel please be assured it is our priority to deliver a great stay to all of our guests. Should you be returning to York in the near future, I would be delighted if you would allow us to be of service to you again, upon making your reservation please bring your Trip Advisor feedback to our attention and we will ensure you have a great stay.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.