We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good walk into York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in York
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good walk into York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good spacious rooms here. We walked into York and back again to the hotel, it took us about half an hour and was along a straight road directly into York, on the way you walk past York racing course with good views across. On our last day we jumped into a taxi back to the hotel as it was starting to rain and there is no shelter along the way, but a lovely walk otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Caspence
Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed the lovely walk to the City.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    331
    199
    47
    19
See reviews for
138
342
14
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed for 2nts at the end of March. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs, we wanted somewhere clean & at a reasonable price. We stayed in the Executive Rooms. There was certainly no "Wow" factor but it had everything we needed. The bed was huge & extremely comfortable. Breakfast was gorgeous and the service really friendly & attentive, the staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel. I'd definitely stay here again as it served the purpose we needed it for. If you're looking for something luxurious & with a bit of "wow" factor this isn't the place but if you want a good, clean hotel within easy reach of York this will certainly fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Janz01
Thank you for reviewing your stay, glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your Holiday Inn Breakfast and found the service to be friendly and attentive.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and fairly comfortable. My only warning is that the beds were moderately hard but if you can live with this it's the pace for you. I was so tired I didn't care. The plumbing worked fine unlike most of the places we stayed in England. Food was fine in their restaurant. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear rawsco1
Thank you for your review and recommendation, I am pleased you found the hotel to be a nice place to stay while in the UK. I am sorry the mattress was not to your comfort level.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a surprise break for my boyfriend. I had never been to York but 2 miles out with a convenient bus route in seemed reasonable. The buses were about every 10 minutes and the fare was between £1.50 and £2 per person each way, depending on what bus company came along first. I booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package for £136. Without dinner the price was £111. Dinner was 3 courses chosen from a set menu. The choice of starter was soup (carrot and coriander on the day of our visit), pate, arincini (breaded risotto balls) or garlic mushrooms. The mains were sausage and mash, hunters chicken, kidney bean and cheese pie, Caesar salad ( maybe another main, can't remember). The desserts were cheesecake, chocolate mousse, sticky toffee pudding (other things I can't remember). We both had the pate, then the chicken and the sausage and mash. The chicken came with with sweet potato wedges and red cabbage with a little red onion and coriander dressing. It was delicious. We were almost too full for pudding but managed a cheesecake and chocolate pot. It was all good. The restaurant was busy but not packed. Breakfast the next day was in the same place. There was a wide choice from the buffet plus eggs cooked to order, and pancakes freshly made at the touch of a button. Our room was a standard room on the first floor at the back of the hotel, but I doubt that traffic noise would have bothered us anyway. The hotel is set back from the road. The room was clean and fresh, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. We were able to check in early and head straight in to York on Saturday, checkout was 12 on Sunday. All the staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Binkibelle
I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I hope your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday trip to York. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked to stay at this hotel for two nights Friday 21st and Saturday 22nd March 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis for my wife and myself. On arrival we were checked in by a very pleasant lady on reception and were allocated room 304. The room was spotlessly clean and I found no evidence of anything requiring renovation. The beds were comfortable and we had a nice view over the gardens.

We had dinner in the restaurant that evening which was great. The slow cooked belly pork with cannellini beans was superb. We slept well in a very quiet room. On the Saturday morning we had unfortunately to check out early as my wife became unwell due to a pre existing condition, but before leaving I enjoyed a well cooked breakfast. The staff at this hotel are very pleasant and I would definately return here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear tidespring
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry you had to cut this short but I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the hotel to continue your stay. I do hope your wife is feeling better.
With my kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 night, As others have said could do with a refurbishment (except the breakfast room which was lovely) but nice nice and clean. Breakfasts where top class. Staff nice & friendly. The area itself is a safe residential one and not far from city centre, As others have said WIFI was extra (and expensive). Wouod recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Dec78
Thank you for your recommendation and delighted to read that you a nice stay and enjoyed our breakfast offering.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here in February for two nights booked via the IHG website. Nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and clean with a big bed and plenty of towels. Bit disappointed with the charges for wi-fi as it is free in the majority of hotels now, certainly in public areas.
I had booked a deal that included dinner on the first night. On entering the restaurant we discovered that this was restricted to the set menu which was fairly limited. There was no mention of this when I booked, otherwise I would have left it at B&B and retained the option of elsewhere. I have used this deal in many Holiday Inns in the past and this was my first experience of this situation. As it was food was of a reasonable standard as was the service.
Breakfast was very good with a varied range of hot and cold food. Will continue to use the chain but be more wary of dining deals offered..

Room Tip: Rooms at rear may be best as there is a busy main road at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jim-Val-88
Many thanks for your review and I am pleased you had a comfortable stay. I am delighted to be able to advise you that Free internet will be available to all IHG Reward members from July. I am sorry you found our Dinner inclusive Menu limited, a new menu is being launched in April. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With Kind Regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.