We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class expereince” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in York
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First-class expereince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

First visit to this hotel. Warmly greeted on arrival. Great checkin. Room spotless and most of all, quiet! Staff across the board were helpful and efficient. Dining was a pleasure, as was early morning breakfast. Keep up the excellent standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for such great feedback, always nice to know that someone is so happy with their stay.
We hope to see youi again in the future

best regrads

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    304
    178
    40
    14
See reviews for
127
303
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean and comfortable room with sofa/tea/coffee making facilities. Iron and board available in room so no need to wait for one to be delivered to the room. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and professional. We were part of a party of 12 and they made efforts to seat us together despite arriving at breakfast in dribs and drabs. Although being about 2 miles from the city centre the bus stop is just outside and the bus driver advised us on the cheapest ticket to buy for out return trip. All together a very pleasant stay.

Pre book as the walk in price is about a third extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Susan Dumfies,

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, it is always great to hear when our team have looked after our guests so well. thank you for your kind comments about the team, I will pass them on to everybody

Kind regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived at the hotel in mid afternoon and warmly greeted by member of staff on reception who gave us all the information we needed about the hotel. Check-in was efficiently processed and we quickly arrived into our room on the third floor. The room was quite well furnished and had sufficient hanging space for our stay. A selection of Seaweed Therapy toiletries available in the ensuite bathroom. We also received complimentary water and a chocolate bar in the room.
There was also an in-rom safe and trouser press in the room.
Complimentary wireless internet is available to Elite Reward Club members.
In the evening we enjoyed dinner in the hotels Junction restaurant where we found the service to be friendly and attentive. Dinner is served between 6.30pm and 9.30pm and breakfast is available until 10am which suited us fine. we found ample complimentary parking available in the hotel grounds. The hotel is situated next to York racecourse and just a couple of miles from the city centre. This was our first visit to this hotel and would return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Legend14,

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that we delivered on your expectations. It would be wonderful to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I made a group booking through Anita who is a tremendous asset to the hotel.

Having got prices for a booking of 20 people in March from 2 other hotels, I was feeling badly let down as one insisted for an advance booking that I should do it online (The Marriott) and the other (KNAVESMIRE Manor) refused to honour an agreed price made with the receptionist 24 hours earlier! Anita gave me an acceptable price from Day 1. and what she promised she delivered.

All of the group enjoyed their stay at the hotel. The rooms were comfortable, the food excellent, particularly liked the freshly made pancakes for breakfast and the staff were friendly and efficient. All in all a great hotel which I am delighted to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Children under 12 have free accommodation and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Margaret S,

It is wonderful to hear that you are so happy to reccomend us. I was delighted to hear that Anits looked after during the booking process, she really is an asset to our team. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed in February 2014 - Staff were brilliant, rooms were top notch and everything was clean and tidy. Everything in the room was there and the price was okay too. Good nights sleep and very happy with it.

Room Tip: Third floor Executive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Aiden Hancock,

I am pleased you had such a good stay with and thank you for your kind comments about the tem, i shall ensure that i pass them all on.

Best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night. Very comfortable room. Nice bar area with comfy chairs and sofas. We booked into the restaurant for an evening meal. The menu is new and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. It's always nice to have a dessert and the good thing is if you haven't got room for a full dessert you can choose a mini dessert and a hot drink. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cereals, continental and full english. The location of the hotel is on the main Tadcaster Road which means you can walk into the centre of York without the worry of having to park. This was our third stay at the hotel. The only downside is you have to pay for the Wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Coventry Deb,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your third stay and in particular our mini desserts and a coffee and our awadr winning breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back again ion the future.

best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a pro-longed period and can't fault it. Staff are great, especially those on reception. Plenty of parking, short bus ride to town. The breakfast is good and the bar is open 24hrs. Good size tv in room as well. Great stay, thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Paulbo
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found our team to be great. I will be sharing your comments with them which will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction.
With kind regards
Douglas Winfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.