We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn York to your Saves list
Holiday Inn York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in York
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We picked this hotel as it is walking distance from York Racecourse. You can walk across the track (before racing starts) The hotel is good but not great. The room was good but the bathroom was tiny with a high sided bath not good for anyone with movement issues. It was however very clean.Reception was good on arrival but we had bill issues twice when leaving.1 Glass of red wine £9.15,and not that good. They have two house wines but give you the dearer won the other was £7.55 also mediocre. The lady at reception said that the alcohol was expensive. The evening meal was as expected with a very limited choice. The breakfast was poor and my husband had to wait for poached eggs for half an hour along with everybody else. Toast was the cheapest bread l have had. Staff however on the whole were good. For £190.00 DBB. Expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Just do B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Christine28may,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback your comments, it is through this process that we can look to improve the service we offer.
I am sorry that we did not deliver a great stay for you during your recent visit, this is not the level of service that we aim to deliver. I shall review all of your concerns regarding both your evening and breakfast experiences with my Bars and Restaurant manager to ensure that we look to improve in the future where we have failed with your self.
I would like to also thank you for your kind words regading the cleanliness and the general attitude of the staff, they are much appreciated.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel

Many thanks and best regards

Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    331
    199
    47
    19
See reviews for
138
342
14
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Tadcaster Road and this is superbly located for visiting York. The hotel is just back from a main road into the town centre and there is easy access to several bus routes to all areas of the town centre including the train station. There is ample car parking at the hotel at no extra charge, we were therefore able to park the car once we had arrived and make good use of the local buses. A return fare into the centre was only £3.50 at the time of writing, and took around 10-15 mins depending on destination. The hotel offers various Dinner packages and we found the food to be quite acceptable, but nothing special. We felt that whilst we were very happy with the accommodation, it was perhaps not quite a full 4*, maybe around 3.5* as some of the bedroom furniture is a little tired and the bathrooms need a make-over. But even so, it was very comfortable, the staff were friendly and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are subject to early morning deliveries as well as early/late coaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn York and you found the hotel to be in an superb location for visiting York. As you discovered we do have excellent quick transport links to the city centre enabling you to take advantage of our free car park. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With kind regards
Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Regardless of any of the negative feedback on trip advisor, I booked in for a one night stay recently. I had a very enjoyable stay and found the staff to be very friendly, food good and all areas were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I very much appreciate your comments and delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn York in the future.
Many thanks
Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here whilst on a short break to York. It is easy to find with plenty of free parking and then only 25 mins into the icty (come out and turn right and keep going!). It is next to the racecourse. The hotel itself was large, clean and had 3 lifts. Our room was large, airy (good air conditioning) and flat screen tv. We did not have the best view, but not a problem.

we ate one night in the hotel and that was nice as we could eat outside.

There is no fitness centre, but it was a nice walk!

A pleasant stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn York and posting your photographs. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable short break and you found the hotel to be comfortable and friendly in a good location with easy access to the city centre.
With regards
Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I use holiday inn all over the uk and Europe with my company and find most to be ok and a few just awful and need closing down such as Lancaster
But every time I come to York I stay here and find the service and staff far better than the 5 star ceder court just up the road
I cannot praise them enough for the effort they use to make you feel so welcome and always look forward to my return trip
The staff really do holiday inn proud keep up the amazing service folks there's not many like you left

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I was delighted to read your review and felt very proud of the level of service you have been given, please be assured I will be sharing your comments with the whole team as these will have a real impact upon their job satisfaction. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
My many thanks
Louisa Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel and the rooms are quite old. Bathrooms are very old fashioned and not renovated.
If you have a car, it can be a good option as there are many parking spaces. Otherwise consider staying near the city centre, as the hotel is far away from everything.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor. The floor is cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry for your feelings towards the hotel but I am pleased you found our free car park to be useful for our visitors. The hotel is 1.5 miles from the city and we do have excellent public transport links from outside the hotel to the city which run every 10 minutes.
Kind Regards
Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am very qualified to write a review for this hotel and others as I spend my life in them.

I stayed at HI York for 8 weeks, the rooms are good and location for the racing is brilliant.

For those not staying for a pleasure visit please be aware that resturant and room service is awful. Numerous complaints were made.

Waiting 1 1/2hrs to be given wrong food, no spoons for soup when ordering room service. Food burnt, or under cooked. Something was wrong nearly every night.

Serious improvements need to made.

I have synced moved to The Village Hotel in Hull which is far more professonial than HI York.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIYork, Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear dannycopeland
Thank you for your feedback on this website and for taking the time to discuss your findings with me at the hotel during your stay. I would like to assure you that the shortfalls which you experienced have now been rectified and we have now returned to our usual high standards.
I would like to reiterate my sincere apologies to you for the problems which occurred while you were staying with us.
With Regards
Nick Henderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.