We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful and Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grays Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grays Court to your Saves list
Grays Court
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Chapter House Street, York YO1 7JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 213 York B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

First of all the location of Grays Court is fantastic! Tucked into a cobbled street behind the Minster, beside the Treasurer's House, and with a garden that is bounded by the city walls - you couldn't ask for a more picturesque location.
The staff were all lovely and caring - my only comment would be that it would helpful to have someone who is always available at the reception desk.
I stayed in the Williams Room which looks out on the courtyard, the room was gorgeous and everything was spotlessly clean.
This hotel was full of charm and run by a wonderful group of people - I would happily recommend Grays Court to anyone looking for a place to stay in York.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    23
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent our wedding day in the beautiful surroundings of Grays Court and in the safe hands of Katharine and her amazing team.
Set back in a quiet corner of Yorks inner walls and tucked away from the bustle of the tourist foot fall, this is the perfect romantic setting for anyones special day.
From the very moment we made contact it was clear that the planning and organisation was second to none. The food served was of the highest quality, fresh and local to the area. The serving staff were highly professional and left us feeling relaxed and cared for.
As a customer of the tea rooms on a normal day I had no doubt this was a fantastic and more importantly the right place to unwind, relax and enjoy the day.
The cost of the day was very very competitive with any local establishment offering the same level of service.
Without hesitation I would recommend Grays Court to anyone, from a quiet cream tea to a wedding break I have always left feeling like i'm the only customer that mattered while visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We did not stay overnight but a Family Wedding brought us to Grays Court and we found it a Wonderful Venue. The setting in the shadows on York Minster was beautiful, the Staff were most attentive and the FOOD at the Reception was out of this world. The organisation must have been excellent because the whole day went very smoothly and most happily. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Perfect location, an absolutely wonderful building, very comfy beds (I'm only 6ft though...) and lovely helpful staff. Not quite perfect yet but we really enjoyed our stay here. You could definitely do worse! Oh and I do believe three Kings of England have stayed there in it's time... The place oozes history

Room Tip: I think our room name was Azelby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are regular visitors to York but for our first anniversary we decided to spash out at the recently opened Gray's Court. The location is perfect close to the Minster and the building is historic.
Our bedroom was a good size but lacked finishing touches, we looked at bare walls, and the 4 poster bed had neither curtains or canopy so we lay in bed looking up at a curtain poll with rings but no curtains and bare wood sides which looked as though it should hold a canopy.
Similarly the dining room appeared unfinished, no window dressings, nothing on the walls and a mishmash of dining furniture, some of the chair seating being threadbare. At breakfast I asked for poached eggs and porridge neither of which they did. Service was also an issue.
It is advertised as being furnished with antiques, but most were poor quality second hand furniture.
The final insult was that when we returned home we noticed on the website an offer of 10% reduction for stays of 2 nights or more. I emailed to request a refund, but was told the offer did not apply at the time we booked.
Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

this is an honest review,the actual place itself is fabulous, everyone very welcoming, shown to the williams room,very clean and tidy cannot fault the bathroom (no bath in this suite) then thought the room was perfect until i went to bed and my feet pressed against the bottom foot board, hardly slept a wink first night, im 6ft 1, it was too small, so that was a great start to a relaxing break,then to find out there is an additional car park charge of £15 per night on top of an already over priced room was a shock,i suppose your paying for the excellent location, breakfast was adequate but no better than anywhere else, and if you walk in off the street its £15 which is way too much, in summery a great place to stay if you,ve deep pockets and under 6ft tall

Room Tip: if your over 6ft avoid the williams room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent two nights at Grays Court at the end of January, as a treat away from the little ones for a romantic weekend away and spent ages researching which hotel to stay in, as there is so much choice in York. We are so delighted we chose Grays Court, it was the most wonderful place to stay, beautifully renovated and decorated, oozing character and with history oozing from every pore of the building! Received an amazing warm welcome from the manager and the owner, Helen, and simply couldn't recommend the place enough. Literally a 30 second walk round the corner to the foot of the Minster, the quiet location is also unsurpassed and definitely no car required. Wonderful and will definitely return if we are lucky enough to get away again!

Room Tip: Azlackby has a double aspect and an oblique view of the Minster. Very spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grays Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grays Court

Address: Chapter House Street, York YO1 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grays Court 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade 1 historic house offering luxury accommodation in unforgettable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grays Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grays Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.