We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesecake to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mollys Tearooms

Mollys Tearooms
41 Stonegate, York YO1 8AW, England
07534472259
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 671 restaurants in York
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A cosy homemade tearooms within a quaint antiques centre in the heart of york
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cheesecake to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little cafe offering a good range of sandwiches, paninis and other light bites all freshly made. The cakes are a real treat especially the cheesecakes. The only real downside is that it is a little hard to access as it is upstairs and through an antique shop and doesn't offer a highchair facility. Worth a visit all the same

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    77
    22
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lunch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great cafe serving home made food, for lunch we had carrot and coriander soup with a bacon Brie and cranberry panini ..... Oh and big slice of home made Victoria sponge cake !! Fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This tearoom is tucked away in an antique centre but it is worth finding. Delicious food, sensibly priced, with very pleasant staff.
They cater for coeliacs - I had a toastie and didn't realise that it was gluten free bread. It was delicious. The cakes are yummy too.
We liked it so much that went twice in one weekend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice tea room and a good place for tea and scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon close to closing time but the waiting staff were friendly and welcoming and served us quickly with our order of tea and scones, the café has a range of options on their lunch menu and a good selection of cakes which are displayed on cake stands around the tables within glass cabinets.

I’d recommend this café as a nice place to stop off for refreshments and the Antiques shop below the café on the ground floor adds an interesting element of decoration leading you up to the café.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as the reviews imply...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited Molly's for quick stop during a day trip to York. We opted to take up the cake & drink offer which is £3.95. Not excellent value but undoubtedly cheaper than Betty's where the queues were far out the door!

We chose the lemon drizzle cake and the almond & raspberry cake. Both cakes were fine, but not as good as I was expecting from the other reviews we have read on here. Maybe I set my expectations too high!

I would say though that the service was excellent, we received a warm welcome and the lady who served us was very friendly and down-to-earth.

Overall, not a bad place to go at all - you could do far worse - but if you're expecting something exceptional then you may be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mollys Tearooms also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mollys Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mollys Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.