We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Save
You added Golden Fleece to your Saves list
16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Day out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Food Excellent Decor Very good Service Very good
I went here with my partner and 12 year old daughter for something to eat after a day out in York. The doorman was very rude and said my 12 year old needed I.D. to enter or we were not going in. When I asked why he said it's 18's only and no groups. I explained we wanted to dine there and he eventually let us in. The food was excellent. We did wait a while for it to come, but it was busy and everything is freshly prepared so we didn't mind. Ditch the doorman he is doing nothing to promote this place. He is just extremely rude and who in their right mind would ask a 12 year old for I.D.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    78
    33
    40
    49
See reviews for
40
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went to this pub on a Sunday evening for a few drinks with friends and a meal. Really great spooky atmosphere, dark lighting and a skeleton propped up at the bar... Beer and wine was reasonably priced - it was £13 altogether for three pints and a 175ml glass of wine. Food was HUGE and quite tasty - I had a blue cheese burger which came with excellent fresh bread, nice chips and a big salad. Unfortunately the meat itself tasted like it was just some mince patted together, but still decent for the price. My friends had toad in the hole and said it was really good. Meals were about £8.

Tables were quite sticky and the seats aren't that comfy, but definitely an atmospheric place to spend a few relaxing hours in this great city. And the Terror Trail leaving at 6.45 is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were enjoying a lovely day out in York. We were really looking forward to visiting the Golden Fleece. We were a group of five married couples in our 40'sand 50's. However on arrival at the Golden Fleece we were told we were not welcome! The doorman would not allow us to enter the pub! We could understand if we were a group of rowdy males but not 5 women with their husbands! Very disappointing! The Golden Fleece needs to train the door staff how to use discretion and think for themselves instead of using a blanklet rule on group entry.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, we had the minister room, loved it out own lounge and gorgeous bedroom. Can get noisy as right on the street but was freshers week so what can you expect! Staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much hassle. Breakfast was brilliant nice full English and one night ate here as well and was the nicest meal I have had for a while and great value. Def worth a visit. Can't say we has anything paranormal though, as all could be easily explained.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across the Golden Fleece whilst staying in York for a few days and absolutly loved it. The food was incredible with giant sized portions of good quailty food and wonderful service. Later that evening we went on the terror tour which Ben hosted and he was fantastic. Telling both grusome, historical and interesting tales about the city, with fantastic acting as to one point drew me in to a false sense of security then made me jump out of my living skin! (Brilliant) :) definitely recommend this fantastic haunted pub to anyone visiting york!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in the shambles room for one night. Was very clean and spacious. The four poster bed was extremely comfortable, bit upset that we didn't encounter any ghosts. The pub itself was cery busy at times. We had a meal and it was huge, lovely fresh homemade food, as for the breakfast it was even bigger than the main meals. The barstaff were friendly too. Cannot believe some of the bad reviews on here as we couldn't fault it. Wouls definatelt recommend the golden fleece and I hope to go again very soon.
Sharon and Rob Leicester

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a fascinating historic pub. Great food and ale accompanied by very friendly service. And best of all the historic ambience is enhanced by it being the most haunted inn in England. And have a drink with the skeleton at the bar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fleece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.