We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, restfull stay, lovely room, great hosting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tower Guest House to your Saves list
Tower Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 213 York B&B and Inns
South Lakes, Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, restfull stay, lovely room, great hosting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were welcomed by Diana, so friendly and warm. Diana, gave lots of helpful information on places to eat and visit. Very helpful.
We had off street parking, which is a must for us. Diana, helped carry our luggage to our wonderful Room 3, French Roccco room. It was a king sized bed, beautiful, light and airy. Four large windows, with lovely blinds, kept it private, but let in lots of light. We had a silent fridge, iron/board and all the usual things. Including quality Street chocs. Nice touch.
Breakfast was ordered in advance for your specified time, and served with a great welcome from Tony. It was all lovely local produce and I saw the egg delivery man too. All in all a wonderful stay. Will definitely go back. Probably when the en suite is extended, as it was a little tight, but very adequate. Diana, said it would be extended and probably with a roll top bath, so looking forward to that, as we have a large wet room. I won't be forgetting my bubbles! Enjoy your stay, well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    11
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
142
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Tony and Diana provide a excellent guest house within easy walking distance from the centre of York, The rooms are very clean, and provided with every convenience. There are rooms for every taste, although I prefer the modern clean lines, some are dressed to suite a more feminine taste. I use the Tower Guest House regularly for business, and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived at the guest house to a lovely welcome from Diana. first things first a lovely cup of tea and a plate of biscuits. Our room Number 3 was a French recoco period. It was amazing all down to the little details, the most fab table lamps and a massive bed. Diane gave us a list of places to visit which was very helpful. Had amazing breakfast served to us by Tony, a lovely display of cereals, juice, fresh fruit and full english breakfast.
En- suite is small but Tony advised that this room is having a make over with an extended bathroom. Cant wait to return. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tony & Diana run a fantastic establishment! The place was elegant, clean, well decorated, was walking distance from shops & restaurants, and had great amenities. The bedroom was newly renovated, large in size, and included a very comfortable bed. They did a fantastic job of making use of the space w/ unique touches in the lighting, windows, and bathroom. The full English breakfast was tasty and served on fancy dinnerware. We highly recommend this place to travelers and hope to return to York again to stay here. Well done!

Room Tip: Newly renovated room #6 was large, well decorated, clean, and has an amazing en suite bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just back from 4 nights in the Tower and it was lovely! Tony greeted us with a much needed cup of coffee and shortbread after a long train journey. He was very friendly and helpful telling us about things to see and do, and recomended restaurants. He even offered to run us to the train station when we left as it was raining. We stayed in room 4, I fancied the novelty of the four poster bed. The room did not disappoint, yes the en suite is small but it does its purpose. The room is clean and well furnished and the bed comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet as it is on a busy road but there was very little noise at night. There was a fan in the room which was great as the weather was really warn and even with the window open there was not a breath of wind. Dianas breakfasts are very tasty and there is plenty of choice also you pick the time you want to eat. There is a bus stop right outside but to be honest it is just as quick to walk. The buses seemed to be stuck in traffic when we saw them and we walked every day, it took 10 15 minutes to get to the Minster and everything else is in walking distance. Lots of restaurants and pubs, spoiled for choice. We had a really enjoyable break in York, no complaints at all. So Tony and Diana thank you for your wonderful hospitality, we would love to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for 2 nights at the Tower Guest House. The welcome was really friendly with a cup of tea while we booked in and got loads of info on places to go around the city from the owner. He took our bags up to the room as well which was really nice of him. On arrival in the room it was flawless! We stayed in the Roccoco room and it was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. I thought the room might be noisy due to traffic outside but after about 10.30pm the road went really quiet. The walk into town is easy and not very far either. Both mornings the breakfast was delicious and we were always offered more tea and toast after. Had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was lovely to be greeted in such a friendly manner by Diane, who gave us all the information we needed for our stay in York. Beautifully appointed rooms within easy walking distance of the town centre, superb breakfast (loved the fresh fruit and eggs done to perfection) and friendly helpful hosts (Diane and Tony). Off street parking was appreciated due to close proximity to town centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Guest House

Address: 2 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower guest house offers boutique-style accommodation in a grand Victorian town house in York, just a 10 minute walk to York Minster and The Shambles. We offer 7 luxurious en suite rooms with high-quality bedding to help ensure a restful night's sleep. Free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Ideal for romantic breaks and leisure or business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Tower Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.