We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the Boxes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlton House
Save
You added Carlton House to your Saves list
134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Carlton vs Budget Chains.
Ranked #16 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lanark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ticks all the Boxes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

I and my colleagues have been staying at the Carlton House for several years on our twice yearly visit to York for the Stamp and Coin Fair at the racecourse. The owners have always been extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is perfectly situated being easily accessable for the racecourse, the railway station and the city centre itself is an easy stroll. It is also very handy for walking to several good restaurants and pubs!

Importantly, it has secure parking and the free wi-fi is useful when you need to work.

The rooms are large and very comfortable and the excellent breakfast gives you a great start to the day.

It is the best family-run hotel I have stayed at in the UK.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    161
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
180
477
27
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Carlton House Hotel-A Very Special Place To Stay.That is the motto of the Carlton House Hotel and i couldn,t agree more.We had a fabulous time when we were there in early february.We have stayed at least three time,s previously and have always had a very warm welcome.The room,s are very clean and well appointed.The breakfast is very good and plentiful.On this trip another two couple,s joined us for birthdays.We all agreed that it was a fantastic place to stay and very resonable compared to certain other establishment,s in York.Mark & Melanie are a lovely couple who go above & beyond the call of duty, as i,ll explain!My girlfriend left her make- up bag & hand bag there and as you can imagine she was in a state of panic.So we rang Mark and he graciously sent her make-up bag & handbag onto us.It saved me a trip back!So as you can see nothing is too much trouble for them.I very much look forward to our next stay there.Also it,s worth noting that it,s about 15-20 min,s stroll into the centre of York & Mark provide,s limited free parking.We once got charged £12 for overnight parking at a hotel in York after we,d payed £110 for a room for the night! I doubt there,s as good a place as this in York!!!

  • Liked — it,s a fabulous georgian town house
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Carlton House for our wedding anniversary. I would definately reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in York, its just outside the city walls, either a 10 minute stroll or a very short taxi ride if the weather is bad. The hotel is modern and very clean but with many beautiful original features. The couple who run the hotel are really friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We just spent one night at the Carlton Hotel, and from the very beginning of our visit, were met with great warmth. The proprietor was so helpful. We were attending a service at the beautiful York Minster, and although we were leaving the next day, were able to leave our car until about three o'clock. The hotel was beautifully warm (it was bitterly cold outside) the bedroom comfortable and the breakfast great. We enjoyed our visit very much and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. We hope we'll be able to stay again.

  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I have stayed at Carlton House about umpteen times from late 2007 to Jan 2009.

Its a lovely B&B in a superb location with a warm and friendly atmosphere. They have a beautiful lounge for guests, wi-fi internet and serve a great breakfast. The staff there are very friendly and helpful, as are Mark and Mel (the proprietors).
There are lovely rooms throughout the hotel, although my personal favourites are on the top floor.

I have always enjoyed staying at Carlton House, and am looking forward to staying there again in the future. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in York for business or pleasure.

Rais, Manchester, UK.

  • Liked — Quality of the room and the friendly hosts and staff.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We've just returned from a weekend away in York and were very lucky to have booked ourselves into a fantastic hotel; the Carlton House.

The owners were absolutely great and didn't grumble when we phoned on the Fri night to say we'd be late due to a combination of the weather and heavy traffic.

The hotel itself was fantastic: beautifully decorated, spacious rooms; comfy beds; delicious breakfast and exceptionally friendly staff. They were very accommodating and were more than happy to cater for the special dietary need one of our party had.

I'll definitely be going back!!!!!

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We visited York and stayed at the Carlton Hotel.
The couple who run in could not have been more helpfull.
Lovely clean rooms. Central to all the attractions at York.
My wife always check to see if it is up to her standard and was very impresed.
Will book the Carlton again when we next stay in York.
We recommend this hotel to everyone whether a family or couples.

  • Liked — Very clean and tidy. Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.