We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, sophistication and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
UK & France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charm, sophistication and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at the Mount Royale for two nights over the Easter weekend whilst visiting York. The hotel was easy to find and had adequate parking. When we were shown up to our room, we were pleased to discover that it is was large, quirky and utterly charming. Whilst other classical buildings may be faded and ill-equipped, the Mount Royale has been lavishly maintained and can boast modern accessories.

There were many little touches around the room that showed the thoughtfulness of the staff and owners - being Easter, we had a little punnet of creme eggs and the cupboard had not only an iron, ironing board and hairdryer but an umbrella too.

The first night, we ate at the adjoining One19 restaurant. As we dined before seven, we had the place (and attentive staff) to ourselves. We took advantage of their promotional offer and enjoyed a two course meal for £10 per person. The cuisine was excellent, as was the selection and service at breakfast the next morning.

The only gripes we'd have were that the hotel room was too hot and that the ceiling in the shower was rather low, which led to me hitting my arms on the artex-ed ceiling.

The hotel is replete with charisma and eccentricity, from the snug bar to the appealing garden rooms which encompass the outdoor pool and sauna. The hotel's website really doesn't capture the enticing feel of this sublime hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    110
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
259
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed a couple of days here. Generally what I had expected. Rooms were clean and pleasant and were generally modern. The garden suits are large and very quiet - front hotel rooms are noisy (5 and 3 from experience) Extremely hot in the bedrooms. Turned off all the heating, opened windows (noise in) but still very hot! Outside temp 15 -16 degC. Restaurant adjacent is nothing to write home about - not great really. Breakfast was excellent - as was the waiter/ess. Nothing too much trouble for them.
Garden a real oasis! Overall a good, walkable location to town and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

In choosing the Mount Royale we were infuenced by the good reviews and certainly not disappointed. The hotel is in a quiet location and whilst around 10 minutes walk from the City, is easy to get to and has the benefit of free parking. We found all of the staff incredibly friendly and welcoming and the quality of service would grace many four star hotels. The room was much larger than many hotels I've stayed in and very comfortable. The facilities were excellent - the restaurant and bar are well worth a visit as is the garden which even on a cold spring day is delightful (and if we'd have had time we'd have tried the sauna). Whilst from some reviews it seems the layout and decor don't suit everyone's tastes we loved the eclectic homely charm. The breakfasts (range and quality) are the best I've had in a UK hotel and if you're going you must try the Eggs Benedict!
Great service and value for money - we'll certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

It's bizarre that this hotel gets so many glowing reviews; certainly fooled us into booking. A dull hotel that seems to have remained in the 1970s, but in a nice way. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, but decor is mind-numbingly dull - it's more 'bric-a-brac' than 'antique' and not done with any eye for decor. Nice garden even in mid-winter. Restaurant is OK, service is friendly but haphazard - some good ingredients, espec the meats, but wasted by very clumsy cooking. Our stay ruined (and cut short) by appalling naff wedding disco that shook our room. The tatty 'garden marquee' set-up for functions is really nasty looking and drags down a half-decent hotel. Overall, not a bad hotel but simply no way near to justifying its prices, especially with a Du Vin 100 yds away and 30 years ahead of this place for style, quality and atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Experienced travellers judge a hotel on first impressions as well as the service received and attitude of staff. Sadly, it fails on a number of counts. Immediate impressions are that the premises are clean but dreary and dated. The lady on reception was indifferent and warned us that if we didn’t want to wait too long for breakfast, we would have to ‘get down early’!! We were shown to our room which reflected the general drabness of the establishment.
Rooms at the head of the reception staircase suffer from the noise of incessant ‘piped music’ until midnight, the clatter of pots, pans & bottles from the No 19 restaurant below and noise from late night revellers in the bar, that disturbed sleep until about 0130 hours and which only quietened after complaints to the night manager.
On the positive side, the No 19 restaurant offers good, well cooked food and breakfasts are excellent, served by friendly staff. Beds are comfortable & rooms clean.
Sadly, the hotel does not live up to the professional, high quality image of its website. The management, who were apologetic about the noise problems, did offer a return stay, at a favourable rate. Overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We found this after searching Trip Advisor.
The hotel is an easy walk into the centre of York.
We had room 19 at the top of the hotel, looking out into the garden. Big bed, big shower, very comfortable and very clean.
We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal, good service too.
You had the feeling of being looked after in this hotel, but left in peace too which is great.
Good breakfast, lots of choice if you don't want a fry! And decent size cereal boxes!
I would definately stay again whilst down in York.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

A great hotel with very friendly staff. We had an executive room as part of a "winterbreak" special that was spacious with a king size bed, a dressing room and large bathroom. The evening meal was well presented, freshly cooked and served at a suitably leisurely pace. The breakfast was superb with amazing choice. I had fishcakes that were prepared from original ingredients whilst I waited. My wife had a fantastic egg benedict. It's a little way into York but through a pleasant area that you we enjoyed exploring. A hotel that's definitely worth trying!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.