We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel sets itself apart from 'chain' hotels as it has immense character blending antique furniture, original Georgian features with modern comfort and convenience.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from the moment I entered the lobby to the luxurious bedroom.

The owners are clearly people of taste and a desire to make the hotel atmosphere as authentic today as it would have been hundreds of years ago. There are key pieces (mirrors, furniture) that have withstood the sands of time, and having not been renovated they have kept their original charm and attraction.

The staff were friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the hotel and sites and attractions nearby. The hotel has a restaurant and large grounds. I only wish that we had had more time to explore the facilities (spa, hot tub, garden suites).

The hotel is located close to the city centre and amenities.

Room Tip: Try a top floor room at the back as it allows better views of the gardens and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you back in the warmer weather when you can explore and enjoy our beautiful Old English garden with outdoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    110
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
259
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for an excellent weekend. The hospitality from arrival was warm, welcoming and genuinely friendly. The room was large with excellent facilities. The restaurant was nice and small and the food and service brilliant. Breakfast on each day was superb, we didn't make use of all of the hotels facilities- spa etc. but I will next time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and I left something behind which they are sending to me ( special thanks to Glen) the only down fall for me was parking in the hotel was not brilliant but plenty space in the nearby street. I would certainly recommend Mount Royale and will visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated. We take on board your comments about the car park and accept that it can become a little congested, but we always do try our best to fit everyone in and provide the free car parking service, which is so limited in the city. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here during a short weekend break to York. The hotel is ideally located (a very easy & pleasant walk into the city, with easy parking) and is full of charm and character, with a successful mixture of very traditional, quaint and some equally modern touches. Our room was comfy, clean and very quiet with everything that we needed. Breakfast was superb (cooked to order) and we had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant. However the most outstanding thing was the customer service - every single member of staff that we encountered was polite, friendly & helpful (especially Glen in reception/bar), and really seemed to want to make our stay enjoyable. It made such a nice change not to be in a 'chain' hotel ; would totally recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay booked last minute at a good price, on the recommendations from TA. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, from the moment we arrived staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking also a bonus. We stayed in room 4 which was up 2 small flights of stairs. The room was spotless, v pleasant with comfy bed and 2 tub armchairs with flat screen tv. Ensuite bathroom was v. clean and had everything we needed including shower cap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soaps. Room 4 is at the rear of the hotel and v quiet. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff were extremely hospitable, I don't think anything would be too much trouble. We didn't try the Oxo restaurant as we had already made plans but hopefully if we visit again we shall give it a go. There is also a nice little snug bar. The hotel is an easy 15 mins walk from the centre of York.

Room Tip: Room 4 was v comfortable with a lovely bed and nice and quiet as it is at the rear. Two small fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Delighted to hear that the recommendations we have received on Trip Advisor brought you to the Mount Royale and that your stay with us was most enjoyable. All the rooms in the hotel have there own individual and unique character, but all come equipped with flat screen TV's, DVD players and complimentary bathroom products. Each member of staff is very committed to giving personal but professional service, and anything we can do to make your stay even more relaxing and enjoyable will always tried to be achieved. We look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully you shall also have the opportunity to enjoy the delights of our beautiful Oxo's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed my time in the hotel ,I enjoyed the location of the hotel and the rooms were very good and the staff very friendly , overall we enjoyed our time spent in York over the weekend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
In such a competitive market as ours, we do try our best to provide guests with a level of service which is consistent and of a personal yet professional manner, and are so pleased that your stay with us was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Loved this hotel! A real country house feel. Family run and it shows. Staff friendly and attentive. Hotel lovely rooms spacious clean and full of character. 10 minute walk to York centre. Oxo's restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast. A beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We found this wonderful hotel through trip advisor and decided to visit for a weekend. Arrived on the Friday and we were shown to our room with the offer of help with our bags.

The room itself was in the basement effectively but beautiful. Very comfy bed and an amazing shower. Another reviewer did comment on the showers being small, im 5'6'' and just managed to fit under the shower head (my partner is 6'2'') I could have spent ages under it.

After getting ready we chose to eat in the restaurant. Absolutely amazing food, I had the lamb and it was fantastic, I would highly recommend it. The staff are very attentive and friendly. It is pricy but more than worth it, although wouldnt have minded if the bottles of wine were a bit cheaper.

We sat in the bar after dinner and had a good chat with staff and other residents. The next night we chose to eat out but the food just did not compare to the hotel.

Would gladly visit again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comment's and so pleased to hear that the service, staff and food lived up to the standards mentioned on the Trip Advisor site. Your comments about the wine have been noted as we do try to offer a very varied selection to suit all tastes and pockets, but customer feed back is always appreciated in order for us to keep moving forward. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.