We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely but a little bit special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Homely but a little bit special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a bit of luxury, book a Garden Suite, especially in summer when you can open the door from the room straight on to the lovely gardens. Staff are friendly and helpful and breakfasts are super with excellent service. We've been staying here every year for around 9 years and the same staff are still there which is usually the sign of a good establishment. The rooms could maybe benefit from a bit of an update, but the accommodation is comfortable and beds wonderful to sink into for a quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The combination of our unique and characterful building, dedicated staff and loyal customers such as yourselves all help make our jobs far more enjoyable, and feeds us the skills to provide good customer service with a genuine smile. We take on board your constructive comments about general updating, but as I am sure you can appreciate this is an on-going task with a building from the 1830's, we do however keep cracking the maintenance whip!
Thank you for your continued custom and we look forward to welcoming you for visit number 10
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    110
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
259
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights early April, and were allocated room 16 as part of a Luxury Executive Break. We arrived an hour before the stated booking-in time, but the room was ready and we were greeted by very pleasant staff who offered to carry our baggage. The hotel certainly has character and the room had old fashioned furniture complete with four-poster bed. The décor may not be to everyone's liking but we liked the whole character of the hotel.
The room was clean,tidy and very warm, and the bed very comfortable. We actually turned off the heating for several hours including over night, and the room temperature remained very comfortable despite the zero outside temperatures!!
Only negatives about the room were the hairdryer that seemed to have a thermal cut-out that meant it stopped working after a few moments, and the fact that the occupants of the room above us seemed to be nocturnal or liked sleep-walking across the creaky floor most of the night.
We had half-board accommodation and ate both evenings in the adjoining Burridges Restaurant. The food was very good but a little pricey, and the proprietor/senior staff member was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the food/wine. Some of the other staff seemed inexperienced and there was some confusion when food was delivered to wrong tables etc.
The breakfasts were extremely good...all individually prepared to our liking. The service at breakfast was very good, and the young girl who waited at tables had an excellent manner.
Overall, a good hotel, good service, good food.....but as we left and settled our bill, it would have been nice to have been asked if we had enjoyed our stay....especially as our view was positive. We were, however, bid a safe journey by the lady on the desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us and, apart from a few minor hiccups, are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. Customer service is very important to all our staff and we aim to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, and if offering to carry your luggage can be a contribution to that, than we are more than happy to help. We have taken note about the hairdryer and shall pass your comments onto the maintenance team, but unfortunately cannot control as and when other guests decide to have a wander round their rooms or the creaks of a very old, characterful building. Burbridges Restaurant is run as a separate business to the hotel and therefore can only think that some of the junior staff were still possibly training, but I have passed both your comments about the food and service across to the restaurant manager. We do, however pride ourselves on our freshly prepared breakfasts, and have won a breakfast award for many years. We do hope you did have a safe journey home but also hope that you shall have a safe journey back to see us in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

lovely friendly staff, comfy room, (hairdryer wasn't great but this was the only complaint) but the food was the selling point. Seriously one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Outstanding...and lovely restaurant owner too, who took the trouble to sit with us and explain the menu....class

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, along with your positive dining experience within Burbridges Restaurant, your comments shall be relayed to the owner. We have noted your feedback with regards to the hairdryer and shall endeavour to look into this, but hope to welcome you back in the not so distant furfure, when hopefully it shall be a little warmer, and you can make the most of our pool and garden areas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here on a snowy day in March and had a lovely surprise of being given a free upgrade to a garden suite without even asking. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. We chose to eat our evening meal in town but returned to the lovely cosy bar for a night cap before bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We try and do what we can to make guests stay as pleasant as possible but unfortunately cannot control the weather, although the gardens do look very pretty in the snow. We hope to welcome you back when it becomes a little warmer, where you can make the most of our pool area and maybe dine in the beautiful Burbridges Restaurant within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

me and my husband stayed here in january for one night,the man on reception was very helpful and friendly even gave us info on where to go for something to eat and drink when we asked he offered us a map too,rooms were nice altho everything is quite old and creaky tho u wuld probably expect that in a building this full of history,the only thing was that we were in the top floor room that was like an attic room and i must say i was a bit freaked out when my tv turned itself on and then off an hour or so later and i also herd a womans voice that sounded like it came from our bathroom,all part of the fun tho i think!the brekfast was amazing they put in real effort to make you happy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in January.
Customer service is very important to us and therefore very much appreciated when guests take the time to acknowledge this to us. We are, as you mentioned, a very old building that is quite creaky and a bit wobbly in places, but also very individual and full of character. As for the television having a mind of its own, sadly it wasn’t a ‘spiritual lodger’ of the hotel but a faulty stand-by button on the remote control !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spectacular staff - great service at every interaction; be it at the check-in desk, bar or breakfast.
We had booked two rooms over a couple of days. The garden suite was good but there were some rough edges ie - the curtain and the carpet seemed old and dated, the water pressure in the shower was very weak, the bath robes and towels seemed used and washed beyond their warranted life. Addressing these small but important points would really lend more energy and freshness to the room.
The other room - a normal suite on the ground floor was a bit more modern and well maintained but the odd location by the flight of stairs made it a bit noisy during the day (esp late mornings during breakfast).

The breakfast, as mentioned in many reviews is awesome - one of the best ever.

The gardens are fine - but definitely could be maintained better. Was expecting them to be a bit bigger though.

To sum up : it's a conveniently located hotel (a short walk from the city centre) run by lovely&friendly people who could do no wrong. With a little bit of effort on the rooms and the overall upkeep this place can be magic.
My reference amongst small town boutique hotels would be the Priory at Bath which in my opinion is a great hotel. My humble tip to the owner of Mount Royale would be to pay a quick visit to the Priory to understand what I mean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, particularly about the great service you received as all our staff are very customer focused and always aim to provide welcoming, yet professional service. We also appreciate your constructive comments, as guest feedback is always helpful in order for us to move forward, and your specific points have been noted and shall be acted upon. With regards to the gardens not looking the best, we do have a gardener and horticultural specialist within the hotel team who do maintain the 2 acre garden, but as with all outdoor areas at this time of year, do not look the best and hope you will return to the hotel in the summer months to appreciate the garden in all its glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

What a superb little hotel! I never leave feedback about a place but felt compelled to! The staff were friendly, helpful and personable. I would rate the staff as good as any I have come across In many years of staying in hotels. We used the hot tub, which was great and the owner took the time to come and see us and gave us a complimentary glass of wine. The room was very large and comfortable. The bar was very relaxing and cosy. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast which was made with much love! Award winning breakfasts - comes as no surprise. This was better than most of the breakfasts that I've had at much more expensive hotels. Everybody in the place bent over backwards to make sure we had a relaxing stay. We'll be staying again next time we go to York for a night out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.