We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, character and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bingley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location, character and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Booked for a weekend of Christmas shopping in York. We ate in the restaurant next door- see separate review. Breakfast was included and was excellent, plenty of choice. The hotel itself has lots of character and the bar area is lovely and cosy with a real fire, drinks were reasonably priced too. We had a good deal on the price-250 fir 2 nights with full breakfast. We did have to change our room after tge first night as we didn't get much sleep because of creaking floorboards above us but the second night on the top floor we slept really well. The manager/owner dealt with our concern really well and we would be very happy to stay here again on our next visit to York. It's a ten minute walk into the city(15 if you're a bit slow!) and we didn't resort to getting a taxi once. Would definitely recommend staying here-a much better experience than other hotels we have tried in York.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
As a smaller hotel we aim to provide a more personal, relaxed but still professional service where guests can make the most of their stay and feel happy and content on check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    115
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
284
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my second stay at the Mount Royale and everything about this hotel is great. It's just a five minute walk into town, the staff are lovely and really helpful and breakfast was amazing. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable and huge! I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
As a family owned hotel we pride ourselves on good customer service, providing a warm and welcoming environment where our guests can relax and unwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night in November and found the accommodation perfect. The staff were very polite and more than obliging.
The Hotel is situated a short walk from town with easy parking.
The breakfast we received was fantastic and prepared us for the rest of our day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hotel in a fab location close to the racecourse and the city centre. The staff were all really helpful and extremely friendly- going out of the way to make our stay extra special. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and in keeping with the olde worlde feel of York. Our room was ensuite with a four poster bed and seperate dressing area. There is a separate spa which has an outdoor jacuzzi, steam room and a sauna all available to use for free and a restaurant. The menu looked good but we has booked elsewhere.
Top hotel and we will definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.The hotel staff are wonderful very helpful,breakfast is amazing and great value .Our room was spacious and comfortable . The problem for this hotel is the very poor service in the restaurant and poor quality of food .The restaurant is poorly staffed and the owner of the restaurant is very unprofessional in his approach to dealing with complaints . Stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review.

As an independently run family business we do strive to make your stay a memorable occasion.

With regards to the restaurant
It did surprise when we were made aware of your review of Burbridges back on the 6th July giving praise to the restaurant.

We have addressed your comments and fell confident that Burbridges is back to its best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned having spent two nights at the Mount Royale Hotel. The first impressions on the web site were very good. On our arrival our room was on the first floor and we were left to carry our own cases up to our room, we were not even asked whether we would like help with our luggage. The room and the hotel in general are very tired and a little scruffy, the carpets need a clean as does the paintwork. The shower head was extremely low and my husband could not stand up underneath it. The duck on top of the mirror in the bathroom looked like it needed a good clean. In the side area off the main bedroom I turned the downlight on and this was full of cobwebs.The lighting in the room could have been brighter as it was very difficult to read anything. The breakfasts were very good however, fruit, cereal a full cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. If the hotel was not so tired it would be a good base for exploring York being just outside the City walls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
As a family owned hotel we pride ourselves on good customer service, providing a warm and welcoming environment where our guests can relax and unwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stepping into the breach late on a Saturday afternoon when my initially booked city centre hotel had my wife and I booked into a single room, the Mount Royale could not have been more accommodating when we eventually arrived. It is a hotel with an abundance of character and charm and although they went to great lengths to point out we had the last and least impressive room in the building, it was clean, comfortable and for two people! From our arrival Mrs Oxtoby and Glen were fantastic,even lending my wife a swimming costume (Mrs Oxtoby,not Glen) so that she could use the jacuzzi facilities whilst I attended an evening meeting in the city.
All the staff were extremely friendly from the bar man in a very comfortable bar, to the young waitress in the morning who served one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel. From a low point where it looked like we would not be able to stay in York , the Mount Royale presented us with a real gem of an experience that we are determined to enjoy again. Well done to all and we look forward to another visit to a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Try the Garden Rooms which looked spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.