We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“might have a different opinion if it was open!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of York Observatory

York Observatory
Museum Gardens, York YO1 7FR, England
44-1904-629745
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 213 things to do in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1831-33, this observatory has been used for more than 150 years and contains the 1850 Thomas Cooke telescope along with interesting exhibits chronicling the development of scientific instruments.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“might have a different opinion if it was open!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we went there on Friday looking forward to visiting the Observatory. in the window there was a note saying that it is open Thursday and Saturday 11.30-2.30. ok! we went back on Saturday at 1 pm and guess what?! it was closed! apparently it opens whenever! disappointing :(

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Saw this from the outside when passing through the musuem gardens. The tour guide told us one or two stories about the observatory which were interesting. Unfortunately it was closed when we visited.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Popped in here on Saturday lunchtime. The visit only took about 20 minutes. The volunteer was informative and answered what questions we had. Telescopes and microscopes are on display. Entry is free but the observatory is only open for a few hours several times a week.
Worth a look if passing through the museum gardens.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went on spur of the moment as walking through Museum Gardens on way in to York. It was free and was so interesting. The talk was informative and we had a chance to look round on our own as well. My son loved it. It is only open on certain days, so pleased that we found it open.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“open day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A very interesting time at the open day.inspired an interest and will definately return.helpful friendly members on hand for advice.Thanks

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Observatory also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.