We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micro Brewery Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of York Brewery

York Brewery
12 Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
+44 1904 621162
Website
Improve this listing
Visit York Brewery like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
The York Pass
Ranked #21 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in May 1996 inside the historic Micklegate Bar Walls, York Brewery is both a traditional working brewery and a major tourist attraction providing customers locally and from around the country with the first real ales from within the walls of York for over 40 years. Come along and experience the traditional art of brewing within the historic city walls. We offer guided tours around the brewery offering an insight on how we produce our award-winning range of ales. Plus, make sure you visit the York Brewery Gift Shop before you leave for those last minute souvenirs and mementos. We stock an extensive range of exclusive York Brewery merchandise including our full range of bottled beers, gift sets, books and clothing.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Micro Brewery Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Visited mid-afternoon whilst the 'olds' visited the local Minster.
There were 8 in our group - from all over the world - about the right size.
Interesting talk and tour of this micro brewery, finished off with excellent samples, of your own choice, in the bar (4 x 1/3 pints).
Small gift shop.
Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    66
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Small Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a great time at this brewery. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the brewing process.
Had a nice time in the bar after the tour with Jan. Made out family very welcome. Great tasting ales.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fine Afternoon's Worth of Ale Tasting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have to say I enjoyed this visit to the York Brewery, although small but a good way to spend an afternoon! You get 4 tokens for 4 complementary glasses of Yorkshire ale or beer to drink either before or after the tour in the Brewery bar! The tour itself is short but detailed and you do get to sample the yeast and other materials used in the brew the ale and beer. The guide was a bit of a laugh and had a good sense of humour! Worth an hour or so and a free glass or 4!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, small brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a really good time here. Your entrance fee is payed back in beers and the tour was really well explained. Great value for money. The nice thing is, it is a working, but sm all, brewery. Tour took about An hour of which a large part focussed on the process, which I liked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Brewery Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.
Although I'm not a beer drinker I have been to several breweries and this small brewery did an excellent job. The staff were knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions. This tour is covered by the York Pass but you only get half a pint as a taster, rather than a pint if you paid directly for the tour. Soft drinks are available instead. The tour ran over time because of everyone's enthusiasm but this was no problem to the staff.
Would definitely recommend this for the men.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Brewery also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.