We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York Brewery, a hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of York Brewery

York Brewery
12 Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
+44 1904 621162
Website
Improve this listing
Visit York Brewery like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
The York Pass
Ranked #21 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in May 1996 inside the historic Micklegate Bar Walls, York Brewery is both a traditional working brewery and a major tourist attraction providing customers locally and from around the country with the first real ales from within the walls of York for over 40 years. Come along and experience the traditional art of brewing within the historic city walls. We offer guided tours around the brewery offering an insight on how we produce our award-winning range of ales. Plus, make sure you visit the York Brewery Gift Shop before you leave for those last minute souvenirs and mementos. We stock an extensive range of exclusive York Brewery merchandise including our full range of bottled beers, gift sets, books and clothing.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“York Brewery, a hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant, the tour guide was informative and knowledgable. Good value for money (£8 per adult) as included was 4 "1/3 pints" so you could try different beers. Definitely good value for money, would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    66
    11
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Every time i go here, love it more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

York brewery offer a fantastic range of beers to drink in a unique bar . It is a relaxing and greta place to chat with friends , drinking one of the freshest beers I have ever tasted. The bar staff are great also . I recommend purchasing a years membership for £3 to save 10 % off your drinks , bottled take outs and merchandised. It truly is a great place ... Love it ..... No fee for the bar , but one for the tour ..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York B, Public Relations Manager at York Brewery, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the review, really glad you enjoy visiting us! For others reading though I'd like to mention that the £3 membership mentioned no longer exists. Due to a change in licensing we stopped issuing it back in August last year. Current membership rates are £18 for standard membership which entitles you to 10% discount at the brewery, and £50 for the gold membership package which, among other things, gets you 10% discount in the pubs also.

Thanks again for the brilliant review and I hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Informative....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

.....tour and great beer. You can save 10% on the £8 price of admission if you purchase your tickets from York Tourist Information. This includes 4 one third sampler glasses.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pershore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have visited a few breweries and done a few tours but this was the best by a country mile.Neil our tour guide was both informative and funny he took us thru the whole process of brewing in a way that kept us all interested. It was obvious that he is really keen on the whole thing and that he really enjoys it.
After the tour we spent a good hour in the Brewery tap which is an ideal place to pass a rainy Saturday afternoon and sample York Brewery ale.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came here on the day before New Year's Eve on the 5pm tour. It costs £8 and for that you get the tour (last about 40 mins) and also 4 tokens that you can swap for one-thirds of the ales. It's a fab way to try the different ales they brew on the site.
The tour was very interesting and it's obvious that the people there love their ale and pass this enthusiasm onto the visitors.

The tour is in the actual brewery that is attached to the pub (where you can stay and carry on drinking). I've been on a tour before (Shipyard in Maine USA) which was great but was more about the history of the brewery but this one was more about the actual process and is very hands on - you get to taste and feel the ingredients!

Brilliant way to pass an hour or so and to try the different ales on offer!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Brewery also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.