We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for a wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hospitium

The Hospitium
Museum St., York YO1 7FR, England
44-1904-629745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 213 things to do in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This timber-framed building was built in the early 1300s, and is believed to have been used as lodging for weary travelers visiting St. Mary's Abbey.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got married here in April 2011 and it was superb. Perfect location, and the staff were so helpful, friendly and supportive it just made everything so easy. We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather, so guests were able to mingle in Museum Gardens and around the side of the building by the river which was just ideal. We had photos taken by the Abbey ruins as well which was just lovely. Bradshaws the resident caterers were superb - even making last minute changes (on the day!) It was just the perfect day and the venue has been heralded by all our guests. I can't recommend it enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came here for a wedding. What an amazing setting at any time of year. The hospitium & the surrounding grounds were just absolutely beautiful. A nice calming retreat to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got married here on 2nd September 2012
What can I say about this place apart from Fantastic.

The staff here were amazing especially Jen. She took control and helped my wife with all the planning.
The outside caterers were amazing.
Just everything was even better than we could imagine

Everyone who is getting in married in or near York has to look at this place its out of this world.
Thanks to everyone involved.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic attention to detail as a wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I married here at the hospitium in September 2012 and the entire team were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble, they covered every detail and more. The value is absolutely excellent and the services of Melody and Jenn was fabulous from start to finish. Considering the charge compared to other venues we looked at on the web this is an amazing choice. Once we were invited to look in person we didn't bother to visit anywhere else because we were made to feel so welcome. I can't recommend the Hospitium and their resident caterers Bradshaws highly enough.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“graduation venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently graduated at York Minster we got our gowns and photos at rthe hospitium I didnt realise it could be hired would be a great venue for a wedding small cafe in reception a number of rooms in beautiful suroundings of the museum gardens st marys abby ruins and close to river ideal for photos

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hospitium also viewed

 

Been to The Hospitium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hospitium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.