We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York Short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mary's Abbey

St. Mary's Abbey
Museum Gardens, York YO1 7FR, England
44-1904-629745
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: William II laid the foundation to this abbey during the 11th century, which became known as the most powerful and wealthiest monastery in the North of England at that time.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“York Short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Abbey is a ruin, but set in really nice gardens with plenty of places to sit, the Yorkshire museum is nearby

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St Marys Abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The ruins, gardens and the Roman history was represented in this beautiful outdoor experience. We sat and walked through this free sanctuary.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A deep view of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

With all the marvelous attractions in York, coming upon St. Mary's Abbey quite by surprise was just stunning. The ruins are simply beautiful and the sense of history they impart are deep and moving, even to an American. But then the size of the monastery that occupied the space unfolds and entices you imagination to picture, feel and muse upon what stood there. In spring, I'm sure the gardens around it must be worth a visit on their own. In March they were just coming into their own..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a surprise to find such beautiful ruins within such a lovely park. The ruins are so picturesque and on such a lovely day as we had we were not surprised to find groups of people relaxing and walking around them. A little strange to see sunbathers though as we are still only in March although I guess the walls provided good shelter from the wind (also ideal for people enjoying a picnic).

Very peaceful and gives a very good idea of what once was and still might have been.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Ruins in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It was a pleasant suprise to find out this is open to the public. We walked around and were surprised to see ancient cists above ground exposed to the elements.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary's Abbey also viewed

 

Been to St. Mary's Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mary's Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.