We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and quite interesting but not amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience

Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience
Micklegate, York YO1 6JX, England
01904 634436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Henry VII Henry VII was the first Tudor King of England who ruled for twenty-four years after defeating Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth. His early reign was made unstable by Yorkist rebellion and pretenders to the throne but he established one of the most celebrated royal dynasties of the middle-ages and passed his crown to his son Henry VIII. Find out about his early life as an exile Lancastrian heir to the throne, see the impact on the city of York as it continued to prosper throughout his reign and enjoy interactive experiences exploring life and death in Tudor times. Children can get involved in our special Tudor camp featuring the gruesome bits Henry's history provided by 'Horrible Histories' author, Terry Deary. Find out more about Henry's life and reign by following his timeline. Explore one of the major gateways to the city - Micklegate Bar Micklegate Bar has served as the main gateway to the city and the route through which serving monarchs have entered York for almost 1,000 years. It has also been the place at which the heads of traitors have been displayed and where condemned prisoners spent their final days on the way to the gallows. Experience the 15th and 16th century city of York Henry VII first came to York in 1486, where the civic authorities welcomed him with magnificent pageantry.York's importance as a trading centre had grown in the medieval period, and although York's status as England's second city was being challenged at the time of Henry's first visit, its many craftsmen guilds continued to prosper throughout his reign.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good and quite interesting but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had to wait until they opened up, which made for a very confusing time in which my friend and I wandered up and down the wall, since there was no sign saying we were at the right place. However, once inside the place does have some very interesting things in it, and I felt that with the joint pass with this attraction and the Jorvik Centre it was worth the money paid. There isn't all that much in it, as it is spread over two rooms, but a worthwhile way to spend an hour if you're interested in the history of the wall and so on. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, despite unwittingly making us wait outside like lost lemmings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kev C, Manager at Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to Micklegate Bar recently. We can only apologise for the lack of signage outside the premises whilst the museum is closed - since Micklegate Bar is located on York city walls we cannot fix any permanent signage in place (as the walls are a listed monument owned by York city council) so we can only deploy temporary signs - which we put out every morning when staff arrive on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating information in an informal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Museum set in the gatehouse - gives a better understanding of what the conditions were like rather than a large, open, clinical museum. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience - and 7 year old raved about it for ages

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was interesting to look at the History of the Bar and incredible to think that people have lived their. I wouldn't have been too impressed if I'd paid seperately to enter the building, but I bought a YAT pass that made it good value for money, and I would not have wanted to miss the opportunity to visit. I would say best for adults.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“My least favorite of the YAT attractions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited the Micklegate Bar Museum on a YAT pass during the Jorvik Viking Festival. I entered with myself and two of my children of 8 and 7 years.

This was by far my least favorite and less impressive of the YAT family of attractions. I feel like it was a bit of a stretch as far as a museum goes. The "ground" floor is the box office and gift shop. The first floor is the exhibit for the tower. It takes attempts to relate life on the wall to you through actual historical people, such as highwaymen, Richard III, and policemen. There is also a dress-up area for the children. The second floor is dedicated mostly to QEII's Diamond Jubilee visit to York, with small corners dedicated to Richard III and other severed heads that were displayed upon the wall, medieval helmets, and coloring sheets.

The children seemed to enjoy the fancy dress area. The staff were friendly and made attempts to relate much of the history to visitors. Despite all this, it just seemed a bit of a stretch as a museum goes and overpriced for what is offered. I believe one might get more out of a good book or a paid tour guide.

The Micklegate Bar is not stroller friendly, as its on the wall. Take the sling or backpack if you intend to bring a baby along.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really interesting stop-over while walking the walls. Stopped for a short break and ended up stopping for quite a while

Exhibits and exhibition very informative and learned a lot ina short time

Well worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Micklegate Bar Museum: Henry VII experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.